2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a newbie to the mod/performance adjustment area of cars and I want to do something to my bonestock silver 2013 Mazda 3 sedan. Im currently saving up for Black wheels and more than likely gonna add a spoiler (not a ricer wang!) Its a modest but smooth addition that is at a decent price. But I have no clue as too what to add internally, I hear people say I should add an intake and/or an air filter while I have others saying I shouldn't because the stock parts are better. Like almost every newbie I am indeed a student on an afterschool job kinda scenario so any advice is helpful.

·
Registered
343 Posts
I am guessing that as a 2013 it could be any one of three engines... but 'cuz there is no Skyactiv graphics it is the 148 hp 2.0 litre engine? Also, no mega header out back... so not Skyactiv...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thats what Im presuming when I googled searched the engine types availble in 2013 and saw mine wasn't a 2.5 L or Skyactiv

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
If that what entails with such a engine/internals then yeah I guess. Has great acceleration though.

·
Registered
343 Posts
Not to say it wouldn't respond to the mechanical go-fast stuff... but as it is not a turbocar the value quotient... hp or torque gained versus $ spent would be poor. My advice... make it look a little meaner, add a bit of exhaust noise (carefully: no droning!), and just enjoy it. Sorry, I will get incinerated here - but if it's an auto trans car - DON'T add a noisier exhaust... YMMV; I have my preferences in that regard. Oh, last thing is that adding exhaust may ever-so-lightly REDUCE performance (lowers torque at low rpm). I just like the sound...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #10