2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.....I'm on the brink of possibly purchasing a 2018 Mazda3 Touring, 5 Door (hatchback), manual transmission, Soul Red Metallic, to replace my 2010 VW TDI Sportswagen, 6sp manual (part of "dieselgate"), that I've chosen the VW buyback option for.

To date, I've test driven a 2018 Honda Civic LX--manual, a 2018 Honda Fit LX--manual, a 2018 Mazda3 Sport hatch--manual, and a 2018 Mazda3 Touring hatch--manual (not the one I'm currently thinking about). All things considered, I'm drawn most to the Mazda3 Touring, but more so for its looks, options, and the current (to 5 July 2018 anyway) customer cash Mazda is offering 2018 Mazda3 buyers.

Not so crazy about the Mazda3's manual transmission fuel economy and cargo space relative to the TDI wagons I've been driving for almost the last 16 years. But I keep telling myself I'll get used to the smaller space, but not necessarily the fuel consumption of the Mazda3.....although with diesel being significantly and consistently more expensive than regular gas, the poorer fuel economy of the Mazda3 may turn out to be a mute point.

I have until 30 December 2018 to complete the actual buyback and turn in of my TDI to VW but want to accomplish that well before then.

I'd be kicking myself in the derriere for a really long time if I were to buy the 2018 Mazda3 Touring and then Mazda ends up offering the more fuel-efficient Skyactiv-X engine in its 2019 model year Mazda3. But from what I've read, sounds like the X engine may not come out on the Mazda3 until the 2020 model release---so not until fall of 2019.