2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
AAGG ;-)
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 2016 3i Touring a couple of months ago and gave my Prius to my son. I'm still very pleased with my purchase, but I do miss a few things about my Prius (read: these are not complaints, just observations):

Gas Mileage. Before you nominate me for the Captain Obvious award, let me explain. I expected to give up about 8 mpg when I switched ... I had gotten an average of about 44.8 mpg with my Prius, and I hoped to get 37 or 38 with the 3. Unfortunately, after 20 fill-ups I have averaged only 34.0, but we'll see if I can improve that as I continue to learn what the car likes.

Storage. My Prius had two glove compartments, a large lower one and a smaller one for maps and such above it ... and a bigger storage area under the arm rest. It also had a very nice storage area under the rear deck. I'm still learning how to avoid car clutter in the 3.

Cargo space. The specs say the two cars are comparable, but the cargo space in the Prius was definitely more usable and easier to access (IMHO) ... and the seats laid flatter. I knew that when I bought the 3, and I tested my golf clubs in it before buying, too ;-)

Entry and Exit. It's quite a bit tougher to get in and out of the 3 than it was my Prius, partly because of the door designs, and partly because the driver sits lower. Given that I'm considered a senior citizen in some restaurants, this will likely be the last car like this that I will be able to buy.

Having said all of that, all of the reasons why I chose the 3 over a new Prius still apply and after owning it for about 10 weeks I would definitely make the same decision today!

·
Registered
659 Posts