2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1501 - 1520 of 6515 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
The system uses a common Linux sound library called ALSA. There are ALSA config files in there somewhere, which have the pan and balance settings for navigation. From memory it's called navigationmux. There are four values representing the four channels (front left, front right, rear left, rear right). You should be able to set these values to 1 1 1 1. I can't recall from memory which file this is in but it will be one of the .conf files.
ALSA conf files ,found. :)

CMU root/etc/asound.conf.LHD and RHD.

code :

pcm.entertainmentLRCrossover {
type route
slave.pcm "entertainmentNaviMute"
slave.channels 2
ttable.0.0 0.0
ttable.1.0 1.0
ttable.0.1 1.0
ttable.1.1 0.0
}

you can change these table , i think.
 

·
Pretty Cool Dude
Joined
·
338 Posts
ALSA conf files ,found. :)

CMU root/etc/asound.conf.LHD and RHD.

code :

pcm.entertainmentLRCrossover {
type route
slave.pcm "entertainmentNaviMute"
slave.channels 2
ttable.0.0 0.0
ttable.1.0 1.0
ttable.0.1 1.0
ttable.1.1 0.0
}


you can change these table , i think.
What would I modify it too to have the Nav audio come out of all speakers? (Also, what would I modify to have it turn down the audio for the other Audio coming out while there is Navigation audio?)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Copying files from the root system to USB drive

Hello all,
First I love all the hard work you guys are doing to customize the infotainment system and provide details for everyone.

I'm a novice with linux, I have a basic understanding of it. I'm trying to copy the entire filesystem for a backup and so I can possibly play around with files in a virtual box.

I have a USB flash drive, FAT 32. I first made the root filesystem writeable
Code:
mount -o rw,remount /
then I found the location of my flash drive
Code:
/dev/sda1
mounted to /tmp/mnt/sda1
I remounted it making it writeable
Code:
mount -o rw,remount /tmp/mnt/sda1
I use the regular
Code:
cp -R
command. I tried to copy /bin to /mnt/sda1
When I wasn't met with no space or syslink errors, it copied the folder over with only 1 subfile 'busybox' but nothing else was copied.

Am I missing something?
The whole reason I'm doing this is because I don't have a laptop, I SSH into the car via WiFi with my iPad and iPhone. I want to 1. make a backup of the whole system and 2. edit some of the image files to change the color and reupload them through mounted USB.

Does my USB need to be ext4?

Any steps or suggestions?:nerd:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
ALSA conf files ,found. :)

CMU root/etc/asound.conf.LHD and RHD.

code :

pcm.entertainmentLRCrossover {
type route
slave.pcm "entertainmentNaviMute"
slave.channels 2
ttable.0.0 0.0
ttable.1.0 1.0
ttable.0.1 1.0
ttable.1.1 0.0
}

you can change these table , i think.
ok from memory this file is a template and the actual file it uses is somewhere else near there.. Check for .asoundrc file or maybe /etc/asound.conf . Sorry I can't tell you where as it was a while ago that I played around with this and haven't had time to check it out again.

Anyway the table specifies input channel, output channel, percentage. So the first line says output channel channel 0 should get 0% of input channel 0, and the second line says output channel 0 should get 100% of input channel 1, and similar for output channel 1. Have a look to see if there's a mux setting where the final value is neither 0.0 nor 1.0 .

ttable.INPUTCHANNEL.OUTPUTCHANNEL PERCENTAGE
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45 Posts
It sounds like you guys are working on the Navigation not being able to be muted, it always mutes the speakers even at the lowest volume... (correct me if I am wrong)

And if your not is this do-able?

Works perfectly. Thank you!




Can confirm, this also works. I copied the original file...
cp systemApp.js systemApp.bak

Then replaced the line...
sed -i 's/this._disclaimerTime.remaining = 10000/this._disclaimerTime.remaining = 100/g' systemApp.js

Now the disclaimer dismisses itself almost instantly. New video below...
20140706_boottime - YouTube
Also I don't want the disclaimer to show up at all.
Can I just replace the 10000 with 0 or 1 instead of 100?
Or will that not help?

Thanks...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Hi
I am new to the forum. Joined because of this thread here. Want to thank all the contributors


It is not easy finding all the working hacks. Is there an easy way I do not know of?

Anyways here is my contribution.

Anybody interested in changing the default message replies or the signature of the messages:
Go to

/jci/settings/configurations/blm_msg-system.xml

And change as needed.
Here is snippet of what it looks like inside:

<Node key="msg">
<Node key="PresetMessages">
<Node key="UK_English">
<Node key="1" data="String" value="OK"/>
<Node key="2" data="String" value="Yes"/>
<Node key="3" data="String" value="No"/>
<Node key="4" data="String" value="Thanks!"/>
<Node key="5" data="String" value="Can’t talk now."/>
<Node key="6" data="String" value="Please call me."/>
<Node key="7" data="String" value="Call you later."/>
<Node key="8" data="String" value="Driving now."/>
<Node key="9" data="String" value="Stuck in traffic."/>
<Node key="10" data="String" value="Be there in 10 minutes."/>
<Node key="11" data="String" value="Be there in 20 minutes."/>
<Node key="12" data="String" value="Why?"/>
<Node key="13" data="String" value="Where are you?"/>
<Node key="14" data="String" value="I need more directions."/>
<Node key="15" data="String" value=":)"/>
</Node>

<Node key="US_English">
<Node key="1" data="String" value="OK"/>
<Node key="2" data="String" value="Yes"/>
<Node key="3" data="String" value="No"/>
<Node key="4" data="String" value="Thanks!"/>
<Node key="5" data="String" value="Can’t talk now."/>
<Node key="6" data="String" value="Please call me."/>
<Node key="7" data="String" value="Call you later."/>
<Node key="8" data="String" value="Driving now."/>
<Node key="9" data="String" value="Stuck in traffic."/>
<Node key="10" data="String" value="Be there in 10 minutes."/>
<Node key="11" data="String" value="Be there in 20 minutes."/>
<Node key="12" data="String" value="Why?"/>
<Node key="13" data="String" value="Where are you?"/>
<Node key="14" data="String" value="I need more directions."/>
<Node key="15" data="String" value=":)"/>
</Node>
</Node>

<Node key="MaxMAPConnectionRetryCount" data="U32" value="1"/>
<Node key="MaxEmailInboxCount" data="U32" value="20"/>
<Node key="MaxSMSInboxCount" data="U32" value="20"/>
<Node key="MaxNewEmailNotificationCount" data="U32" value="20"/>
<Node key="MaxNewSMSNotificationCount" data="U32" value="20"/>
<Node key="MaxEmailSubjectSize" data="U32" value="160"/>
<Node key="MaxIncomingEmailBodySize" data="U32" value="1024"/>
<!-- MaxOutgoingEmailBodySize is max. message body size in bytes without Message Footer -->
<Node key="MaxOutgoingEmailBodySize" data="U32" value="483"/>
<Node key="MaxIncomingSMSBodySize" data="U32" value="160"/>
<!-- MaxOutgoingSMSBodySize is max. message body size in bytes with Message Footer -->
<Node key="MaxOutgoingSMSBodySize" data="U32" value="140"/>
<Node key="TruncateSubject" data="bool" value="true"/>
<Node key="TruncateBody" data="bool" value="true"/>
<Node key="TTSBreakTimeValueBefore" data="U32" value="1000"/>
<Node key="TTSBreakTimeValueAfter" data="U32" value="1500"/>
<Node key="TTSClientEmail" data="String" value="TXTMSG"/>
<Node key="TTSClientSMS" data="String" value="TXTMSG"/>
<Node key="Notifications" data="bool" value="true"/>
<Node key="PBSyncOnCachedListing" data="bool" value="true"/>
<Node key="UseHealthMonitoring" data="bool" value="true"/>

<!-- Timeout Settings -->
<Node key="FolderListingTimeout" data="U32" value="100000"/>
<Node key="SMSListingTimeout" data="U32" value="150000"/>
<Node key="EmailListingTimeout" data="U32" value="180000"/>
<Node key="GetMessageBodyTimeout" data="U32" value="40000"/>
<Node key="DeleteMessageTimeout" data="U32" value="25000"/>
<Node key="SetMessageStatusTimeout" data="U32" value="15000"/>
<Node key="SendMessageTimeout" data="U32" value="30000"/>
<Node key="StartMessagePlaybackTimeout" data="U32" value="30000"/>
<Node key="StopMessagePlaybackTimeout" data="U32" value="30000"/>
<Node key="SupportNotificationsTimeout" data="U32" value="3000"/>

<Node key="AutoDownload">
<Node key="SMS" data="bool" value="true"/>
<Node key="Email" data="bool" value="true"/>
</Node>

<Node key="MessageFooterConfig">
<Node key="UK_English">
<Node key="OutgoingMessage" data="String" value="
Sent from my "Mazda Quick Text System""/>
</Node>
<Node key="US_English">
<Node key="OutgoingMessage" data="String" value="
Sent from my "Mazda Quick Text System""/>
</Node>
</Node>

<Node key="TTSConfig">
<Node key="UK_English">
<Node key="TTSEmailMessageTag" data="String" value="Message"/>
<Node key="TTSEndEmailMessageTag" data="String" value="End of the email"/>
<Node key="TTSEndSMSMessageTag" data="String" value="End of the message"/>
<Node key="TTSSubjectTag" data="String" value="Subject"/>
</Node>
<Node key="US_English">
<Node key="TTSEmailMessageTag" data="String" value="Message"/>
<Node key="TTSEndEmailMessageTag" data="String" value="End of the email"/>
<Node key="TTSEndSMSMessageTag" data="String" value="End of the message"/>
<Node key="TTSSubjectTag" data="String" value="Subject"/>
</Node>
</Node>
</Node>

Wait, how do you get that to show up in the first place? I'm on V33 & iPhone 4s and there's no options for text reply or canned messages. Any info to enable this would be awesome!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Hi

I recently owned a Mazda 2 Skyactiv (Firmware V45) and I have applied the disclaimer mod and the change background mod. Going to rearrange my audio source list and also change the menu colors. Thank whoever shared those mods.:laugh2:

Would like to ask if any1 dissected the hardware of the MZD Connect system as I'm curious to know if it's possible to install a Miracast adaptor and turn the screen into a WiDi device.:|
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
351 Posts
Hi guys. Good news.
I think I was first happy owner of a broken original IGO. It was not me. The man who did it wished to remain anonymous. Later I will try to publish videos. I can say that the case into one file .lyc from folder licenses. This file contains VIN.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
200 Posts
I recently owned a Mazda 2 Skyactiv (Firmware V45) and I have applied the disclaimer mod and the change background mod. Going to rearrange my audio source list and also change the menu colors. Thank whoever shared those mods.:laugh2:

Would like to ask if any1 dissected the hardware of the MZD Connect system as I'm curious to know if it's possible to install a Miracast adaptor and turn the screen into a WiDi device.:|
there you go:

http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2014-mazda-3-skyactiv-audio-electronics/80153-digital-tv.html

http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2014-mazda-3-skyactiv-audio-electronics/93433-video-input.html
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
351 Posts
As promised you can find the video.
Firstly I want to say that it's not my job. A man who I did not personally know, but I think that sooner or later he will read this message. Respect him and many thanks. Being able to do this and to show, at least in what direction you move.
Problem in Mazda_FEUR_NQ_2013_Q4.lyc
Here's the video:

I'm sorry, but it's not my job.
I don't know how the author changes the content file.
If the author wants he will tell how to do it. I just got permission to announce and test the functionality.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
176 Posts
Withe - what did he copy on SD card at the end of the video? Just 1 file?

From this video we can only se that:
- he made format of some SD card
- then backup from PC to SD card
- then insert SD on MZD
- then delete all files from SD card
- and the last he copy some file from desktop on this SD card and it works

:surprise:

Do you have more info of what is this file?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
351 Posts
Withe - what did he copy on SD card at the end of the video? Just 1 file?

From this video we can only se that:
- he made format of some SD card
- then backup from PC to SD card
- then insert SD on MZD
- then delete all files from SD card
- and the last he copy some file from desktop on this SD card and it works

:surprise:

Do you have more info of what is this file?

In this video me and my car. :wink: I checked work of author.
1. From backup any original card transfer files to SD. MazdaTools will warn that card is not correct. You ignore warning.
2. Delete everything from folder license.
3. Copy In folder license configured only one file for your VIN: Mazda_FEUR_NQ_2013_Q4.lyc
4. Then car will do it all himself!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
574 Posts
Again. I am running v33 is the password the same as Mazda3Hacks, if not please update. I have not been able to connect from Windows.
sorry, off the post you quoted, I'm not sure what you're trying to do.
Are you trying to ssh in to the system or unpack an update?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Just an FYI to everyone who has done the speed limitation mod, maybe this hasn't been mentioned before, but if you have done this mod, DO NOT perform the "restore system defaults" under the setup menu. It will disable the touchscreen when moving and you'll have to perform the mod all over again.

:no:
 
1501 - 1520 of 6515 Posts
Top