2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey folks, Aaron here. This is my first time posting to the forum. I bought an '08 Hatch w/2.3 manual trans. It has Goodyear Eagle Sports on it. Totally stock, otherwise. I've been around numerous forms of motorsport, as crew, for most of my life. After getting the car, I scored a good deal on a trackday at the Streets of Willow. What an amazing experience. For $89.00, I got to drive 94 miles of track. The crowd was great and my little car impressed the hell out of me. I've always eyeballed Mazdas, but finally owning one is a game changer. I'm pretty new to driving a FWD hard. I've owned a ton of RWD cars and a bunch of sport bikes. This tuner/import thing is kind of new to me. Running the track CW, my fastest lap was a 1:40.732. This put me at 9th fast, out of 25 cars. So now the questions. Keep in mind, I'm 44 y.o., and have a solid working knowledge of motorsports.
1.)Tire pressure. Ambient temp was from 34F to 48F. Going out at 36psi, turn-in was solid but by the apex, I felt like I was rolling the sides. pressure coming off the track was up to 40psi. Going out at 40psi, felt loose to me. I felt like the rear wanted to oversteer, even when braking in a straight line (mostly straight:laugh2:). Any input here?
2.) The final corner is a 2nd gear , 180 right. I changed braking and acceleration points throughout the day, but kept experiencing tire spin on the exit. The right front would spin hard and keep spinning if I didn't modulate. I tried to late apex and square-up the corner but if I didn't carry enough speed, the poor thing didn't feel like it had enough poop to carry onto the main straight. Is there an LSD available for this trans?