2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first time posting so sorry if its in the wrong place, but i need help! i have a 2010 mazda 3i GT automatic with 38,000 miles on it. since about 18,000 miles or so, ive heard a squealing sound just before the car shifts up a gear, but its only when its between 1500 and 2000 rpms. if im being aggressive with the gas pedal, i dont notice it. i can also hear it, but just barely, just before it downshifts. i used to think it was from going up and down hills, and then maybe because the car is trying to be efficient and likes to stay in 5th gear when going up a hill at 35 mph. but i dont know anymore and im pretty sure my mechanic has given up on it. i take it to a Mazda dealership every time to get it serviced. his first thought was the belt, so he replaced that, and it was fine for about 500 miles and then it started up again. since then ive had the a/c compressor clutch and the belt tensioner replaced. along with a new belt each time. but its still making this noise. so far everything has been covered under warranty, but im worried that its going to cause something to break after my warranty is up. does anyone know anything about this squealing noise? has anyone else had this issue? please help because even my mechanic doesnt know whats going on

·
Registered
703 Posts
Sorry to hear about this. Haven't heard of anyone else having this issue. Belt tensioner pulley maybe? Hope it gets resolved. If not tell your dealer you'll take a speed as even trade and deal with that squealing...of the tires that is.

·
Registered
100 Posts
More clues needed maybe??? - I was just listening to car Talk Our Show | Car Talk

The 1 clue that I keep thinking about is the fact it went away for 500 miles when the 1st belt was changed.

So leads me to believe the squeal is from that belt.

Im assuming he changed the belt tensioner "spring" and pulley assembly.