2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody. I'm brand new to Mazdas, being a Celica girl my whole life. Just let go of my 15 year old Celica and got a 2016 Mazda 3 2.0 Sport trim hatchback with manual transmission. I LOVE the car - how it looks, performs, feels, electronics, etc - but it seems that acceleration is sluggish going from 4th to 5th, and sometimes 5th to 6th. I expected this car to be pretty peppy, given that it's new and the Mazda rep for zoom-zoom. :)

I've only had it one week, but I keep noticing this, particularly if there is a hill or incline involved. If there is a steep hill, it seems a bit of a strain for the car, even in 2nd or 3rd. Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Also, I'm a lifelong manual transmission driver, but my old car, of course, had a totally different feel for shifting. With the Mazda, I'm shifting between 2-3 RPM. Was told during the break-in period especially, not to rev too high before shifting. Thoughts on optimal RPM for shifting from those in the know would be much appreciated!

thanks-
Ruby

·
Super Moderator
5,579 Posts
With the Mazda, I'm shifting between 2-3 RPM. Was told during the break-in period especially, not to rev too high before shifting. Thoughts on optimal RPM for shifting from those in the know would be much appreciated!
If you are shifting at 2K rpm no wonder its sluggish:grin2:
The limiter kicks in at a bit above 6500:smile2:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not at 2 - right around 3. Between 2-3. Had a feeling it might be the way I was shifting - that's why I was asking! :)

In my old car - I shifted between 3-4, but was told that that was too high in this car - especially during break-in period - is that not correct?

·
Super Moderator
5,579 Posts