2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday I was in a very tight parking deck, and in a poor lapse of judgement decided to park my car in a space that was too small for it, scraping the front bumper on a concrete wall that was painted white. It was very low impact and I backed right off after it happened, so only paint damage has occurred. My question is: If I take it somewhere, how much do you think a scuff like this will cost me to get repaired? I'm not sure what refinishes like this typically cost and would like to avoid getting totally ripped off. Can I redo the paint in this spot myself? I have no experience with repainting cars, but am not sure how intense the labor would be to patch this up.

Any guidance would be really appreciated! Thanks guys...I'm pretty frustrated with myself :oops:

Here is the damage right after it occurred:
Imgur

Here is the damage after cleaning it up:
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

·
Common Sense
182 Posts
As with anything else, shop around. A bumper (if you remove it and take it to someone) shouldn't be that much. Take it to a 'friend' and they can fix it for $150 (repaint). Take it to a pro and it will get much more expensive. I don't recommend you try to paint yourself if you have no experience. It is harder than it looks if you don't know the 'tricks'.

·
Registered
49 Posts
i agree with Texan.

i wouldn't attempt to do it if you have no experience. who knows, you might make it worse and more expensive to fix.

if anything, you can try to wax it off, and see if it's better without having to do a paint job.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Last time I was talking to my paint guy, he quoted $300 Canadian to respray the whole bumper