2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

Registered
2012 Mazda 3 2.0L Automatic Sedan
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there, I'm pretty new to any sort of modifications but I've been dealing with a CEL with a misfire code for a bit, replaced my spark plugs and coils and that didn't fix it. Took the car in to a shop and they said I needed a valve cover gasket, got that replaced along with the spark plugs again and still had a misfire in cylinder 3. Took it back again and they said I need a new cat converter.

Now my question is, if I pick up an aftermarket converter (I was looking at the magnaflow OBDII direct fit cat), can I also throw on a new exhaust altogether?
I guess cat-back just means it's the portion that attaches to the back of the cat as the name sounds?

I'll throw in links for the parts I'm currently looking at, any advice would be appreciated, sorry I'm really new to this 馃槄

Catalytic Converter for 2012-2013 Mazda 3 2.0L L4 GAS DOHC | eBay
2010 2011 2012 2013 Mazda 3 2.0L Magnaflow Catback Exhaust Free Shipping | eBay

Registered
2012 Mazda 3 GX MT5 non sky
In have this on my 2012 2.0L Mazda Exhaust System | 60mm Exhaust

Which Cat has to be replaced the main cat on the headers or the mid point cat (which is right after the downpipe and before the cat back exhaust.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
In have this on my 2012 2.0L Mazda Exhaust System | 60mm Exhaust

Which Cat has to be replaced the main cat on the headers or the mid point cat (which is right after the downpipe and before the cat back exhaust.
I actually hadn't realized that there was more than one, so I guess my next step before doing anything else should be to find out.

Registered
Discussion Starter #4
I actually hadn't realized that there was more than one, so I guess my next step before doing anything else should be to find out.