2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey gang. Is there any reason not to update my software with the latest official version? I am still reading through the information on the AIO tweeks (probably not the right terminology), and I haven't decided if I want to start down that road yet. Pretty daunting for a complete noob in this area. So, should I go ahead and install the latest version for now or is there a reason to wait until I figure out the AIO thing? Thanks!

·
Registered
824 Posts
Answers to your questions:
1. No, there is no reason not to update your software with the latest official version.
2. There is a reason to wait until you figured out the AIO thing, if you want to use AIO tweaks.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well hell, I responded but I don't see my post. My question was whether I would loose some capability if I do the update and then decide to go with the AIO? If so, what would it be? Thanks!

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
To understand the structure. And keep in mind that I'm working and haven't had a chance to look this up but please check my reasoning. If it's wrong, do let me know.

There are 3 separate things that can be updated?
  • System software/firmware
  • The one above done by removing the SD card and plugging it into a computer
  • NAV update
  • Uploading it from computer to flash drive then updating via the display on dash
  • Gracenote using the same method as the NAV
Could be wrong about everything. Thank you guys!

·
Super Moderator
4,877 Posts
First you need to determine what software version your car has. AIO won't work on later versions without some effort. There are many discussions on this...If you have a version where you can't apply AIO without jumping through the hoops, it doesn't really matter if you update or not.

·
Registered
824 Posts