2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Arcadio A. Sincero Jr.
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to hard wire my G1W dashcam and iOttie Qi-enabled phone cradle into my car. My car is a brand spanking new 2015 Mazda 3s GT hatch. While I'd say my handyman skills are at an "intermediate" level, I've never done car electronics before. Well, that's not entirely true. I did install an aftermarket radio into my last car. But that was pretty straightforward. I have been doing my research though, and I think I know what to get and how to install it. I figured I'd run it by you guys first though to get some verification and perhaps some feedback.

Since the dashcam and the phone cradle both take 5VDC via a USB connection, the first thing I probably need to get is something that takes 12VDC and converts it to 5VDC. Would this thing fit the bill:

You can even get it with two female USB output plugs, so one plug for the dashcam and the other plug for the phone cradle. Seems perfect.

Next, I probably want to hook up the aforementioned transformer to the ACC fuse of the car so it turns on when I turn the engine on. Apparently, the thing I want to use to do this is a fuse tap. I didn't even know what that was until I started Googling and apparently it's the way to go since you won't have to cut into the factory wiring or anything. Would this kit be appropriate:

It comes with the fuse tap and any fuses I might need.

I think that's all I need, right?

·
Registered
249 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts