2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am new to Mazdas, picking up a 2016 3 i Touring Hatch last friday. So far I have really enjoyed it.

I am having an issue with the the heater fan always blowing at a constant speed no matter the setting and if I turn it off it still blows constant and shows the setting its blowing on the climate screen (everything else is dark on the screen). It has the dual climate control. I have searched this forum and have not been able to find a thread with a similar issue.

I am wondering if the Heater blower resistor has gone bad? Does anyone have a pin out/schematic for the resister so I can test it with known good resistance values and continuity between pins? YouTube and other google searches have not been successful for the 2016 range of models.

I have found the part numbers on rockauto. This is my first post so I am unable to post links to them. I can only find one resistor on Ebay.

They seem to be pricey so I don't want to shotgun a part at it. Does anyone have any alternate ideas, sources for parts or any information that could be worthwhile? I do not have a local Mazda dealership and of course I rolled over 36k miles on my first commute to work.

Thank you.

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
I would still take it to mazda, BTW, 2014-2017 are basically the same and the mazda6 cx5 use similar items. If the resistor blew, then something caused it to blow. Hence the reason I say dealer is the way to go because if the resistor isn't the only problem then they'll have to cover replacing it again if they didn't fix it the first time. Thus the reason I think something likely caused your resistor to blow. Try pulling it out and take a look and see if there is anything obvious going on. If it's staying on even when you turn it off that tells me something caused a full grown across the resistor and the problem should be visual.

·
Registered
253 Posts