2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Autocross so I am looking for any sort of tips/tricks for autocrossing in general, and even better some of the characteristics you have noticed while racing yours. I have signed up for the Milwaukee SCCA autocross school so I am looking forward to some quality instruction there as a start. I am not looking to be the fastest on the track as I know I won't be with the 2.0 but I do want to get very comfortable taking my car to its limit. I will post again with some more specific questions. Thanks!

·
College Zoom-Zoom
3,248 Posts
I just finished my 2nd ever Auto-X today so I'm no expert but I feel like I can help you a bit.

Tips:

1. Know the course before you drive it. Walk it once and try to remember each turn, etc. If you can't walk it again.

2. Inflate your tires up a bit more. Stock says 32 psi for my car. I went to 37 today. Firmer sidewall on our tires will prevent any kind of sidewall rolling and helps a bit with body roll

3. Focus ahead as far and safe(Together : ) ) as possible. If you just focus on the next cone, it will seem like things are coming by super fast. Focusing on 3 or more cones/turns down the course helps you plan ahead on what line you are going to take, etc.

4. Since it will be your first time, sign up for the novice group unless the course you are taking tells you otherwise. The do a track walk thru with a "professional" and tell you what the cones stading up, laying down, etc are for.

5. Bring your own supply of water, painters tape roll, etc. for the day. Some events provides these while others do not. I'm 99.9% sure that each event has loner helmets. I don't own my own so I borrow one.