2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I’m new here. I’m going to pick up a used 2014 Mazda 3 i Sport this week. It has about 49k miles, and is the manual 6 speed model. To my knowledge it is all stock, but I’d like to put some work into it to pull some more hp out of it! It’s already super fun to drive, mostly looking to do it for the recreation of working on my own car, and maybe a little bit of showing off XP

I’m no mechanic, but I can do most moderately challenging modifications myself with the right instruction. I’m not looking for instruction on this thread, more so just some suggestions on decently easy modifications that will give me some speed! I was thinking about cold air intake, and maybe some sort of ECU upgrade for starters.

What are some mods you all have done to your similar models? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,824 Posts
There is not much you can easily do to a Skyactiv engine as it is putting out close to it's maximum power from the factory. You already have a 14:1 combustion ratio and the engine comes with an exhaust header. You could put an aftermaket exhaust but I don't think you will get a power gain, just a noise increase. Not sure how much and Orange Virus tune is but do a forum search and check out the tuning thread for Orange Virus. Happy motoring from Thailand.

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
There is not much you can easily do to a Skyactiv engine as it is putting out close to it's maximum power from the factory. You already have a 14:1 combustion ratio and the engine comes with an exhaust header. You could put an aftermaket exhaust but I don't think you will get a power gain, just a noise increase. Not sure how much and Orange Virus tune is but do a forum search and check out the tuning thread for Orange Virus. Happy motoring from Thailand.