2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I downloaded it yesterday and noticed the head's up display shows a lot more detail than it used to. Now it counts down the mileage to upcoming turns (and shows directional information) miles before the exit. I updated to 70.00.100 the same day, so that may be the reason for the more thorough information, too. I'm not sure, but I'm really happy with it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tonyt357

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Orville, that would be from the firmware update. Not sure what version you upgraded from but that functionality existed in the later versions of 59. Also, there are settings in the infotainment which you can adjust for the amount info you want to appear and what you want to appear on the hud. Depending on the version you came from, the update may have set some defaults you didn't have set previously.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Hmmm. I just realized it now says my SD Card is invalid under card diagnostics in Mazda Toolbox (although it still works in the car). I restored the previous map, and the diagnostic went back to saying it was a valid card. Then it updated the map again, and went back to saying it was invalid. I'm guessing it's an issue with their validator?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hmmm. I just realized it now says my SD Card is invalid under card diagnostics in Mazda Toolbox (although it still works in the car). I restored the previous map, and the diagnostic went back to saying it was a valid card. Then it updated the map again, and went back to saying it was invalid. I'm guessing it's an issue with their validator?
Orville, just curious...what inspired you to use the diagnostics app anyway? Did you have trouble updating your SD to the Dec 2018 map? Firstly, can't stress enough but always important to properly eject any media from your computer using the taskbar...not properly ejecting using this function can corrupt media.

Beyond that....consider getting another high quality SD. Copy the 2 or 3 files from original SD to your desktop and then copy/paste back to the new SD. You need to copy and paste each file individually. The content file will take 5-10 minutes to copy and paste depending on speed of computer. Then see what happens with the new SD in your car. Again, it's possible the files are OK but the SD got corrupt somehow and just needs to be reformatted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Just downloaded to my original Mazda SD and copied to my SanDisk 16G spare I use in my car. Works perfectly! Three files that I put in a folder and copied to the SanDisk 16G after erasing the original files.

Do it right the first time and you will have no problems.

I give thanks to all on this forum on the right procedure and have no problems if followed in the exact order!

edvb
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I've updated maps twice with Mazda Toolbox with no issues, but this time, my original SD card wouldn't open in Mazda Toolbox (both windows and the toolbox thought it was set to write protect). Between ejects, write-tab shifts, reinserts, having the tab fall out of the slot, trying tape over parts of the notch, etc.I was never able to get either Windows or Mazda Toolbox to allow me to add/delete files from it, so I copied it all over to a new SD card (8 GB Class 4 Kingston).

Two of the files wouldn't copy (corrupted), but Mazda toolbox recognized the mostly complete clone and allowed me to proceed with the 2018 update. Because of my issue with the original card, I went into the diagnostics to double check the new card.

At first I thought it was an issue with the validator, since the new card shows as valid when it has a restored 2017 map on it, but invalid with a 2018 map, but now I'm thinking it might have been a corrupted download. I tried using the card in the car, and navigation loaded, but no streets or roads were showing, just terrain and state names/borders. After trying the same process with another card (16 GB Class 10 SanDisk) and getting the exact same results (valid/invalid card results depending on map year, and no streets/roads showing in nav in the car) I deleted the apps/roaming map files to force a new download of the 2018 map update, and installed the freshly downloaded update on both of the cards. I didn't go back to diagnostics to revalidate either card (it was late and the process had taken hours at this point, and I was paranoid that the validator might actually be messing up the files on the card once it thought it was invalid), so I just stuck the 16 GB card in the car, and haven't had any problems using it.

Curiosity will get the best of me in a few days, and I'll probably try to validate the 8 GB card again (now a backup since the original card is toast) just to see if I get the same error. For now it doesn't appear to matter, since the Toolbox and the car both allow the card to be used.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I hear some upgrade to the latest version 70 but never did mine. Am still running V33 on my 2015 European 3. Is there really that much I will gain if I upgrade from V33 to V70, maps, etc?. I wish your feedback before making such a move. I don't have any issues presently so hence why am a bit hesitant to make the move.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Orville, I think I got mostly what you did.

If I'm not mistaken, you were able to revert the original Mazda SD back to a previous functional/valid version.

My suggestion, simply do copy of each file from the working Mazda SD to your desktop. Then paste each one of those files to a new SD card. You can't copy the entire folder/SD...you must do a copy and paste of each file on the SD. If I'm not mistaken there were 2 files previously but now there are three....content, license and label.

The Mazda SD card maybe corrupted as you point out, but that does not mean the files are corrupted. But you have to do a copy and paste from the Mazda SD to your desktop to a new SD.

At this point you should be able to put the new SD into Mazda toolbox and hopefully indicate as valid SD...then try doing the new Dec 2018 with that SD.

Don't get stuck that there is something special/unique about the Mazda SD as it could be corrupted...You absolutely don't want to erase anything on it at this point, but Mazda toolbox is looking for the data on the SD not necessarily the specific Mazda SD. If you are able to get the working data onto a different SD then you should be fine. As I said, I make 2 additional copies of the map updates when they are released in addition to the original SD.

Very interesting...Mazda does not prohibit you from making working/valid copies of the maps to a new/different SD. They just don't allow you the function to copy to a new SD from Mazda toolbox. You must copy and paste to your desktop to new SD.
 

·
Mazda "E" Division
Joined
·
1,255 Posts
Orville, I think I got mostly what you did.

If I'm not mistaken, you were able to revert the original Mazda SD back to a previous functional/valid version.

My suggestion, simply do copy of each file from the working Mazda SD to your desktop. Then paste each one of those files to a new SD card. You can't copy the entire folder/SD...you must do a copy and paste of each file on the SD. If I'm not mistaken there were 2 files previously but now there are three....content, license and label.

The Mazda SD card maybe corrupted as you point out, but that does not mean the files are corrupted. But you have to do a copy and paste from the Mazda SD to your desktop to a new SD.

At this point you should be able to put the new SD into Mazda toolbox and hopefully indicate as valid SD...then try doing the new Dec 2018 with that SD.

Don't get stuck that there is something special/unique about the Mazda SD as it could be corrupted...You absolutely don't want to erase anything on it at this point, but Mazda toolbox is looking for the data on the SD not necessarily the specific Mazda SD. If you are able to get the working data onto a different SD then you should be fine. As I said, I make 2 additional copies of the map updates when they are released in addition to the original SD.

Very interesting...Mazda does not prohibit you from making working/valid copies of the maps to a new/different SD. They just don't allow you the function to copy to a new SD from Mazda toolbox. You must copy and paste to your desktop to new SD.
There is no hinderance to copying the Map SD card, since the software is locked to the vehicle's VIN. You just need to use the correct windows Program: https://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
There is no hinderance to copying the Map SD card, since the software is locked to the vehicle's VIN. You just need to use the correct windows Program: https://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/
You don't even need a windows program or SD copy tool. As mentioned below just copy from the SD to the desktop and then copy paste to the new SD. I make 2 new copies after each map update in addition to the original Mazda SD. It's just a normal copy/paste procedure...you just have to copy/paste each file (and not folder) and it can take 10 +/- for each SD. 3rd party program not needed in this case.
 

·
Mazda "E" Division
Joined
·
1,255 Posts
You don't even need a windows program or SD copy tool. As mentioned below just copy from the SD to the desktop and then copy paste to the new SD. I make 2 new copies after each map update in addition to the original Mazda SD. It's just a normal copy/paste procedure...you just have to copy/paste each file (and not folder) and it can take 10 +/- for each SD. 3rd party program not needed in this case.
The original Mazda SD card I used:

Mazda Toolbox software
Used the restore feature onto a blank SD Card or disk imager, which works better :laugh2:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Anybody know the part number of the latest navigation SD card from Mazda?

The last one in 2018 for NA map was: BHP1 66 EZ1J

May I assume the new one would be: BHP1 66 EZ1K ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
The original Mazda SD card I used:

Mazda Toolbox software
Used the restore feature onto a blank SD Card or disk imager, which works better :laugh2:
I apologize then. I was unaware they changed the ability to copy new/blank SD's directly from the restore function on Mazda toolbox. Good to know. A couple of years ago that was not possible and users had to find other ways to make copies of the original SD. There were other threads here that discussed this. Once the copy was made then you could update each copy from the toolbox. Mazda probably updated this capability at some point since it was not a "lost revenue issue" as each SD and subsequent copies are locked to the car's VIN. I'll try it next time.

I think in Orville's case, one of the simple options to attempt to fix the "validity" issue was try a copy and paste function of the SD files from the original to a new SD since the files maybe valid but the actual SD got corrupted. That's what I originally suggested till I got a bit off topic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Any news about South American maps update?

In my Country (Chile), the city speed limit was lowered from 60 to 50 Km/H months ago... and lots of new roads and street changes aren't updated since august 2017.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Any news about South American maps update?

In my Country (Chile), the city speed limit was lowered from 60 to 50 Km/H months ago... and lots of new roads and street changes aren't updated since august 2017.
Can only suggest you go to Mazda toolbox and insert your SD and see if there is a current update.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
OK, I have tried all three methods mentioned in this thread in order to make a backup copy of the SD card, but all trials have failed so far.

Mazda Toolbox can backup and restore no issue, but new card showed "invalid" when insert into my car.

Regular copy/paste (by each files not all folders together), same, no luck.

I even tired the "win32diskimager" program, still invalid.

The only thing I can think of, is that I was trying to copy the card before actually drive the car with the SD card inserted to "lock" it to my VIN.

Is that a necessary step ("VIN lock") before you can make a copy of the SD card? Thanks!
 

·
Mazda "E" Division
Joined
·
1,255 Posts
OK, I have tried all three methods mentioned in this thread in order to make a backup copy of the SD card, but all trials have failed so far.

Mazda Toolbox can backup and restore no issue, but new card showed "invalid" when insert into my car.

Regular copy/paste (by each files not all folders together), same, no luck.

I even tired the "win32diskimager" program, still invalid.

The only thing I can think of, is that I was trying to copy the card before actually drive the car with the SD card inserted to "lock" it to my VIN.

Is that a necessary step ("VIN lock") before you can make a copy of the SD card? Thanks!
check out this other forum


https://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2014-2018-mazda-3-skyactiv-audio-electronics/163073-backup-sd-card-nav.html

create the image with original and then write on new sd card
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I thought the "win32diskimager" way is creating image and then write to new. The question is, does the original SD card need to be vin locked first, before using this or other methods?
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top