2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2015 Mazda3 iGT
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Probably a dumb question, but is it I’ll advised to reuse the crankshaft pulley bolt when changing out the pulley? Is there a particular reason why you shouldn’t use the old one, especially if you apply threadlocker?

·
Registered
1 Posts
Quite likely a torque to yield bolt. Once it’s tightened to the properly torque spec it actually damages the threads I’m pretty new to Mazda’s but almost everyone I’ve seen on a Ford is

·
Registered
2015 Mazda3 iGT
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quite likely a torque to yield bolt. Once it’s tightened to the properly torque spec it actually damages the threads I’m pretty new to Mazda’s but almost everyone I’ve seen on a Ford is
that’s what I was afraid of.... now I need to go get me a new bolt!

·
Super Moderator
5,357 Posts
There's nothing that says you can't. As long as you follow the proper procedure for installation it should be fine.

·
Registered
2015 Mazda3 iGT
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
From all I’ve read and watched, that bolt is super stubborn to get off without air tools.

·
Registered
1,328 Posts
Crank pulley bolts usually are difficult to remove. Air impact or an electric impact will do the trick. There's also the old starter trick. You use a breaker bar on the bolt and rest it on the car frame. When you turn the starter, the electric motor turning the engine will crack the bolt off.
This is a complete ghetto move. I'd strongly advise an impact gun over this. If you put the bar on the wrong side of the frame, the engine will throw it when you turn it. You also have to disable the fuel pump and clear it out first. It's not the safest thing.

The bolt can be reused. I'm sure it exists, but I have yet to see a TTY crank pulley bolt because from an engineering standpoint it's completely unnecessary.