2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Mazda N00b
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

So I just recently bought a 2012 Mazda 3i GT with SkyActiv, and have been looking for suggestions on easy mods to begin with. I am not very experienced in working on my car (first car), so any and all help will be very appreciated. I am good with tools and my hands (I am an engineer), so I think this is in my wheelhouse. ;) I have heard about several mods so far (replacing stock sway bar, lowering suspension, adding mudflaps, painting, etc). What I am most interested in is increased performance and looks. What I mean by looks includes the painting, the lowering, installing interior LEDs, stuff like that. Any suggestions, how-to's, and help is welcomed and appreciated. I cant wait to get my hands greasy!

·
Super Moderator
6,186 Posts

·
Mazda N00b
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have just started looking through "What Did You Do To Your Mazda 3 Skyactiv Today?" to get ideas. I think this forum will have plenty of those at least! Thank you for the useful links!

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
Hey there and welcome!!
For performance I'd recommend the Corksport SRI and their exhaust...you will love the sound and get a little gains at higher rpms.
As for looks or aesthetics there are so many options, just depends what route you want to take and how much you want to spend/do.
You can do a complete retrofit on your headlights, add led's, halos, rope led and paint the housing. Eyelids, lip, side skirt extensions, rear bumper flairs, led footwells and led engine bay lights. New wheels or dip/paint your stocks.
You can even do a complete car wrap or dip!!!
There are lots of good sites to order from and member's are always willing to help you out!!
As mentioned the build threads are a great place to get ideas.

·
Mazda N00b
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Repair Manual?