2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am new to FORScan and am trying to determine if my BSM-R (Blind Spot Monitoring Sensor – Right) is bad and how to replace / recalibrate it. I have hit a wall on what I can research online. Any help / insight is appreciated!

Some Background:
My car was hit while parked on the street a few months ago. The bodywork was taken care of but now the “BSM OFF” light is flashing. Having done some Googling and reading up on the Mazda service procedure for troubleshooting the BSM (Blind Spot Monitor) modules I took the rear bumper off. The back-left bracket and body were still deformed from the accident (The shop neglected to repair the unseen section of the car… sigh). I straightened out the section of body the sensor mounts to and bent the bracket back into shape. Everything is pointing where it should. I was hoping the system would clear itself but it hasn’t.

Troubleshooting:
I have since purchased an OBDlink MX reader and fired up FORScan. I see the RVM (Rear Vehicle Monitoring) and BSMR (Blind Spot Monitoring – Right) modules but no BSML. Per the wiring diagram the BSMR module is connected in series with the BSML module. From what I can tell the BSML is acting as the host so perhaps the RVM is the BSML (need to verify this). Furthermore, when I try to swap BSMR module with the BSML module neither the RVM or BSMR show up anymore in FORScan.

The DTC’s in FORScan reveal the following:
RVM: U3000. Will post exact readout tomorrow.
BSMR: No error. Will post exact readout tomorrow.

Initial Conclusions:
1. The wire harness could be bad, but unlikely since the BSMR is showing up and is hooked up in series to BSML in the wiring diagram.
2. The RADAR portion of the BSML module is bad but the CAN bus and other electronics in it are OK.
3. The BSML is showing up as RVM since it is the host? The module just needs to be calibrated.

The Rub: