2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Father of all macks
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

New to the forum. Trust me, I looked through previous posts to see if I could find something that resembles my problem, but if there is a post about it thats similar to mine, I don't know what search terms to use.

I noticed today that my car has weak air pressure coming from the air conditioning from the front vents. The maximum blower setting feels like the minimum of what it normally is. I thought that something had gone bad in there, but then I started playing with the dialer and I realized that the floor and defrost vents are still blowing strong.

I played with the dialer some more, and I discovered that the only setting that I can get any air pressure at all from the front vents is in the front-only setting. Also, I found out that the front-only setting has air blasting out at high pressure on the floor.

I would assume there's a blockage somewhere behind the vents, but I don't know anything about car A/C and I really didn't want to dig around in there without knowing what was wrong. I could take it to get it repaired, but then I'd be down $150, and I'd prefer knowing how to solve this problem on my own if its something that I can do with a basic toolkit.

I replaced the cabin air filter about 3 months ago, and my car has 99k miles. The A/C in the car was charged about a year ago.

Any help offered in order to help figure out where to start wold be greatly appreciated.

·
Demon Spawn
758 Posts
blend door or blend door actuator is what I would suspect those are under the passenger dash (glovebox) and are rather difficult to get at, but that's a classic sign of a blend door or actuator failing basically its a door that just moves to block flow to certain vents (floor, center, defrost vents) or a mix of them. and it can get stuck or the actuator start failing and it starts acting like how you describe

·
Father of all macks