2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI
GOOD DAY GUYS, I AM NEW TO THIS SO PLEASE EXCUSE ME IF I KNOW NOTHING.
I DRIVE A 2016 MAZDA 3 SEDAN (NOT THE HATCH) AND IM THINKING ABOUT LOWERING IT A LITTLE TO FILL MY WHEEL GAP A LITTLE.
ANY ADVICE ON WHAT ARE THE BEST LOWERING SPRINGS TO USE FOR THIS PROCESS.
PLEASE TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION THE RIDE QUALITY AND DIFFERENCE IN HEIGHT REAR AND FRONT.
ALSO I WOULD LIKE A GOOD HEIGHT WHERE I WONT SCRAPE AND DRAG ON ANYTHING.(EASY PASSAGE OVER HUMPS ETC)
I CURRENTLY HAVE AN OEM FRONT LIP AND IM RUNNING 18X10 WHEELS.
PLEASE HELP SINCE I HATE THAT UGLY WHEEL GAP.
J

·
Registered
43 Posts
You should look into getting coilovers rather than just lowering springs.

·
Banned
842 Posts
You should look into getting coilovers rather than just lowering springs.
Ya this would be one way to have the best of "most" worlds regarding adjust-ability in a suspension?

Your great benefit of adjustable coil-overs is having almost infinite adjustable for ride height ,spring rate choice, adjusting for different driving conditions, ETC.

But we may as well toss in a full air ride system so you don't have to get out of the tools and spend an hour changing setting on adjustable coil overs you can do everything while sitting in the car listening to the sound system. But a system like that is $3-4k.

Without going into the why's and not's , adjusting for a lower ride height for looks is not always the best approach to improving things in handling overall.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Ya this would be one way to have the best of "most" worlds regarding adjust-ability in a suspension?

Your great benefit of adjustable coil-overs is having almost infinite adjustable for ride height ,spring rate choice, adjusting for different driving conditions, ETC.