2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
'18 M3HGTP Eternal Blue
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
And I'm no spring chick! I've been driving the same 2 vehicles for 15 years now, and with 300k miles on the clock of my trusty Jetta TDI (48mpg over its life!), it's simply falling apart. Headline failing down, foam coming out the AC vents, all sorts of creaks and rattles.... my wife has had enough.

So, today, I made the commitment to buy an '18 M3 Grand Touring Hatchback with Premium in eternal blue (parchment leather seats). Have to wait till Monday to pick it up because of scheduling, but soon. It'll be my first Mazda...

Lets see if I can make heads or tails out of the infotainment stuff here in the forum. Looks a bit random in presentation, unless there's an FAQ I've somehow missed? Mostly want to get Android Auto up and running.

·
Gearhead
1,841 Posts
Congratulations and welcome Brian. We have our first Mazda, almost identical to yours but a Soul Red ‘17 — after 52 other vehicles. LOVING our Mazda.

Happy motoring!

·
Registered
353 Posts
Congratulations. We went from a VW TDI to Soul Red 2016 sGT. VW bought our car back in its 7th year. The "clean diesel" only got 40.2 mpg over about 69k miles. That soot burnoff obviously uses a lot of fuel.

We had a 1983 240D for 25 years and 230k (stored 4 years while we were in Singapore) before the TDI. I almost had to pry my wife's hands off it. Almost wish we'd kept it and checked into slapping a 300D turbo motor onto the 4M trans. Benz had a very good diesel mechanic working for them at the time. He'd know all about it. But, alas, might not have gotten into Mazdas. Love our 2. Second one is a 2013 MX-5 GT. Both have near the same amount of miles on them.

The 3 drives smooth like a 3 Beamer; whereas, the MX-5 feels more like the 240D (but with a lot more takeoff dig).

Ralph

·
Registered
2017 Mazda 3 GT hatch
148 Posts