2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to car modding so forgive me for my lack of knowledge and understanding. But I'm here to learn. I did a handful of research and settled on a JBR short shift plate for my 2011 Mazda 3 S GT 2.5 6MT. I coupled that with some Torque aluminum bushings. The short throws are excellent and feels great shifting. But I noticed during hard shifting, specifically from 1st to 2nd, sometimes the gear would lock or not go into 2nd causing me to grind the gear kinda rough. It's happened twice now.

From my research I did read from others that shifting gets a little tougher with the short shift plate though the throws are greatly reduced. Is there an alternative or solution to decrease the force required to change gears? I did see the video about "fine tuning" but did not get a chance to do it yet nor do I really "understand" what it does.

Help with your input and wisdom great Mazda 3 world!

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If adjusting the shifter cable doesn't work, contact JBR. They are very helpful and quick to respond to questions.
I tried the video and adjusting in both directions. Shifting from 1st to 2nd is difficult during WOT and even when the clutch is fully depressed sometimes quick shifting into 2nd causes the gear to bounce out and not even engage. I'll give JBR a call/email and hopefully can get a good answer from them. Thanks for the responses so far everyone.

·
Registered
87 Posts