2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1,130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

I thought I'd post a quick how-to on installing HID bulbs in the OEM fog light housings. I saw a few guides for head lights and the process is very similar, but none of them mentioned anything about using the heavy-duty relay harness. I decided to purchase the TRS H11 HID kit for my 2012 Mazda 3 i GT. If you decide to try this, make sure you pick the correct bulb type. I think previous model years use a different type. I also read that the the use of a relay wiring harness is optional for 35W HIDs, but I decided to install one any way to be safe.

Disclaimer: I am a noob so these instructions might not be perfect. Please exercise caution when doing this install. I am not responsible for any damage that you do as a result of these instructions.

I apologize if this how-to isn't very detailed... there was rain in the forecast so I had to be quick with taking pics, so I could get done.

This guide assumes that you already have the OEM fogs installed. If you don't check out these two great how-tos:

http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2010-mazda-3-appearance-interior/9913-diy-2012-mazda-3i-sport-foglight-install.html
http://mazda3revolution.com/forums/2010-mazda-3-how-guides/2004-2010-3i-fog-light-installation-guide-pics.html

The kit I received from TRS included:

• (1) Heavy-Duty H11 Relay Harness
  • (2) Morimoto Elite 3Five HID Ballasts
  • (2) Morimoto Elite 3Five 4300K HID Bulbs
  • (1) Really short H11 cable with only one end, which I didn't use (no clue what it is for)

I also stopped at Lowes and picked up some Scotch Indoor/Outdoor tape to mount my ballasts with. I also picked up a pack of zip ties, which I ended up not needing.

Pic of all the components: