2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

First post on mazda3revolution...and this appears to be the forum in which to post this:

I'm taking the wife's 2015 MZ3 to a pair of heavy-braking race tracks this summer and have yet to locate any motorsport-level brake pads for the car. I'm guessing that even something modest like one of Hawk's street/"track" pads would be better than the OEMs. I'll be instructing in the car for the most part, but will want to run at least a handful of hot laps at each track: Watkins Glen and Le Circuit Mont Tremblant. The tires will be DOT-R compound regardless of which pads I run with.

Does anyone know what's available to help this car brake from higher speeds, as well as who is selling them?
FWIW, I'm totally new to Mazdas except for the few hundred Miata hotshoes I've met at race tracks all over the Northeast. :laugh2:

Thanks!

·
Registered
50 Posts
If you're doing a lot of laps temps are probably going to soar. You may want to convert the rubber flex hoses to stainless steel lines and switch a track brake fluid (Motul, etc.).

I have HAWK HPS and they're on par with the OEM, except they have less initial bite. I think they are easier to pedal. I plan to switch to EBC yellow stuff when the Hawks expire.

·
Admiral Obvious
1,811 Posts
am on hawk HP+ pads, they work fairly well once they warm up.

I run Motul RBF600 and SS lines

·
Registered
50 Posts
The Street 5.0s may have part numbers for the 3rd gen. I found conflicting database recommendations from parts websites, tirerack and Hawk's own website. Ultimately I called Hawk, got the part number, then ordered through Tirerack. The poor rep on the phone was hesitant because I was ordering focus/volvo pads according to his database. Review follows: