2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Has anybody hardwired a dashcam to their Mazda3?

I'm looking to get this done soon. I'm also a complete noob at car modding, so I have a good amount of trepidation.

Once I have it done I promise to post a how-to guide :wink:

**EDIT (7/10/15)**
I felt like I just barely managed to flub through the hardwiring process so I didn't want to write a guide on my methods, since it was entirely inelegant :p But here are a couple notes and links that can help anybody interested in hardwiring by connecting to the fusebox.

1) Get a dashcam.

2) If your dashcam runs on 5v, you're going to need a converter. Something like [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Dash-Camera-Vehicle-Hard-Wire/dp/B00MH4ZVHO/"]this[/ame].

3) You also need a fusetap, low-profile, and preferably with a 5amp fuse. Depending on your camera a 2amp or 3amp fuse may be enough. I used [ame="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00I0MWPXU"]this[/ame].

4) For the cleanest install, you're going to want to run the wire up through your headliner, down the A-pillar, behind the weather stripping of your driver side door, and into your fusebox. Check out this guide for amazing instructions on how to remove your A-pillar.