2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Mazda 3 GT
2,491 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been driving on the H&R 28821-1 springs for a couple years now.

As they are designed for Mazda 3s that have a 2.0L engine, they always seemed softer than necessary.. kind of bouncy with a decent amount of spring travel.

So, H&R also makes a spring for models with the 2.2L diesel engine that is sold in germany and that part number is 28821-2. They are the same in the rear, but the front springs are firmer for the heavier diesel engine.

Took out my old springs up front today and popped in the new firmer model.

I have to say that I'm really impressed.

Less body roll, less front end lift on take off, smoother feel on bumps and I don't have to worry about scraping as much on driveways.

If you have a 2.5L and are looking at H&R springs, you should definitely get the 28821-2 springs.
CK

Reactions: mym3 and JTA

·
Super Moderator
6,219 Posts
Yes, the -2 springs are what you want for the 2.5. The difference is minimal, maybe couple hundred pounds for the car, and the springs are .5mm larger in diameter and 2mm shorter. Not much but a little goes a long way.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I have been driving on the H&R 28821-1 springs for a couple years now.

As they are designed for Mazda 3s that have a 2.0L engine, they always seemed softer than necessary.. kind of bouncy with a decent amount of spring travel.

So, H&R also makes a spring for models with the 2.2L diesel engine that is sold in germany and that part number is 28821-2. They are the same in the rear, but the front springs are firmer for the heavier diesel engine.

Took out my old springs up front today and popped in the new firmer model.

I have to say that I'm really impressed.

Less body roll, less front end lift on take off, smoother feel on bumps and I don't have to worry about scraping as much on driveways.