2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Part 1: The Issue (2016 Mazda 3 / 55,000 miles)
Hello, my name is Mark and this is actually my first post. Recently, I had an issue where my wiper motor kinda just gave out...or so I thought. As I am actually a mechanic I went ahead and got dirty, started checking the standard things related to wiper issues (fuses, grounds, continuity of cables and wiper stalk) and still NOTHING I basically thought a rat had just chewed the wires and I would need to completely dismantle the fuse box (which is VERY time consuming and tedious). Finally out of frustration I looked up wiring diagrams and that's when I figured it out! There is a component in the front fuse box called the front "body controller module" or "BCM" its a computer chip module that controls various functions like washer motor power/wiper motors actuation and power/etc. This module legitimately takes 30 seconds to remove (held in by two little thumb tabs). Since everything else looked to be in working order I thought I would start there.

Part 2: The Burning Wallet
So the next day I called up the dealership (yes I know more like stealership) I like doing it for fun mostly and to determine if they are knowledgeable, and let me tell you they are not. These hustlers quoted me $400... like what...that is absolutely insane! I asked him if that includes labor and he told me yeah it would take a while to "get to the part" I asked him again if he knew what I was talking about, again he explained "It should only take us about an hour to get to it" I laughed over the call and told him I got it out in 30 seconds and he got very quiet. Eventually I asked for the standalone part cost and they still quoted me $300 (which doesn't even make sense as he said hourly rate was $140 so the part would have been 260~ish). Since I'm broke, young, and don't like being swindled I went with alternative routes.