2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just changed my factory fill at 3900 miles. Lots of wear/break in on the engine.

Didn't go above 3000 rpm on the first 1000 miles, then slowly pushed it to 4000, 5000, redline at every 400 miles. 50/50 city and highway driving.

Filled it up with Pennzoil Platinum 0w-20 and replaced with Mazda OEM filter.

Comments?

·
Registered
102 Posts
I'm no expert on UOA's but that looks pretty good to me. I like your oil choice, PP seems to be good oil. I'm at 1200 miles and just over 2 months of driving. I'm from the "Don't Baby it but don't Beat it" school of thought on breaking in new cars. I've got a couple free oil & filter changes coming from my dealer so I'll take it there at 4 months. After that I'll do my own changes with OE filters and probably PP also.

·
Registered
228 Posts
The moly aides in break-in. Probably should have left it in for at least 5k miles. Looks fine overall.

·
Registered
102 Posts
The moly aides in break-in. Probably should have left it in for at least 5k miles. Looks fine overall.
I'd leave mine in for 5k but I'm gonna bump up against the 4 month warranty thing. I'll have about 2500 miles on after the first 4 months. The build date on my car also tells me that this oil has been in for 8 months. That's long enough for me no matter how many miles.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Time isn't that big of a deal for modern oils. Unless it something drastic, 1 year + isn't hard on an oil.

The high levels of moly are great for the early engine miles. If you do change the oil early, make sure to use a high molly content oil like Mazda's high moly oil (not castrol).

·
Registered
102 Posts
Time isn't that big of a deal for modern oils. Unless it something drastic, 1 year + isn't hard on an oil.