2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
UPDATE: Review of event, car, and pictures posted below

I noticed this forum has basicly no following or posts... seems most of the people here are too worried about their tints :p

Anyway, I am going to an autocross this Sunday in Detroit, MI (Belle Isle) and going to see how the new car does. I have been autocrossing since 2003 I believe (still couldnt even buy smokes). I have stopped though in the last couple years because my normal ride has turned into a track day car and honestly it's not set up for a tight course w/ bumps. (see my sig/avatar for car)

I will be running the car 110% stock and seeing how it fairs. I expect a couple things... understeer, and power induced understeer. My Integra had a LSD in it and it was the BEST upgrade for auto-x I could have ever made (put me right into classes with modified WRX's and Mini S's and I still got a victory and a number of trophies)... So I am worried about the wheel angle sensing power limiter... I noticed even with the DSC off I seemd to get a significant power reduction when the wheel was turned. We'll see. I may also try and do a fun-run with the DSC ON and just see what exactly it does. The stock tires seem great on the road but I'll be ramping up the tire pressure (to make sure teh sidewalls dont scrub) and this will be my only real way to tune the handling (F/R). Bell Isle is a pretty flat course so luckily no large bumps/dips will upset the car.

I will update with times, hopefully some pix, and maybe even a video if the camera is working (out of car.. no rollbar to mount to in this car).

Wish me luck!

·
1,091 Posts
Most of the folks I've met from autocross/roadracing don't actually post on forums, regardless of what car they drive. They might read for ideas, but don't post. Too busy wrenching on the car, practicing or doing other things besides armchair racing. ;)