2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, as I bought a Skyactive X - 180hp, i'm wondering whats the max we can get from our new enginge.
(I work as a Graphics-Designer and I'm not a car mechanic - or a programmer.)

I was wondering, if there's any potential in "software-tuning" the car?
I know the 180hp AWD is supercharged, so if you change the value of the charger, do you get a better performance?
Has anybody experience with this kind of "tuning"?

What are you guys puting into your engine to get the most out of it?

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
5,328 Posts
. There are very few SA-X cars in private hands as they have only very recently started delivery of them. Nobody I have heard of has had one to try tuning, and certainly no real tuners.
The SA-X is not supercharged. It has a small Roots type compressor to aid in the SCCI combustion process, but it has nothing to do with forced induction. Using it for forced induction might cause the engine not to work at all.

·
Super Moderator
5,328 Posts
I wouldn't hold your breath. Most tuners don't bother with N/A cars, let alone bespoke engines from a company like Mazda.
Really????
Thats just not true at all. There are a number of tuners who do Mazdas, just not many that do the ECU used in the Mazda 3.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you for your answers!
I guess, time will show what‘s the true power of the SA-X.

Thx

·
Registered
295 Posts
warranty? we don't need no stinkin' warranty!

(I hope there are enough SkyActiv X's sold in Europe so I can see how the engine longevity is before my lease ends in three years...)

·
Registered
2018 Mazda 3 GT called Coffee.
2,119 Posts
I wouldn't mess around with the Skyactiv-X engine yet. There's a lot going on under the hood and it's a new technology. Maybe with some time, tuning maybe an option, but hard to say.