2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the 3rd gen Mazda 3's are pretty peppy cars, good throttle response, but a little latent on gaining acceleration. They are fun to drive, but i feel like they would be perfect with a little more power. I understand that swapping motors requires a ton of money, buying parts to retrofit the motor, and an incredibly long installation period. Since turbo charging our current skyactive engine is pretty much impossible, engine swapping our cars probably seems like the best way to gain some power. Im curious what you guys have to say about this? I have no knowledge about how these things work, and in no way am i an expert. But just theorizing if we were to pull this off, what would be need to have done to make it work? Lets have some fun on this topic ^^^

·
Super Moderator
5,353 Posts
Since turbo charging our current skyactive engine is pretty much impossible, engine swapping our cars probably seems like the best way to gain some power.
Where did you hear that??:dunno:
There are several options for power upgrades available, including turbocharging. An engine swap would be fairly expensive as you would need not only the motor but transmission, all the various bit and pieces, an engine management system and any other electronics. Then there is getting the engine to fit in the car, not to mention getting it to work. Forced induction would be cheaper and easier. Quite a few SkyActiv cars have had FI kits installed. As the kits become more common and easier to install you will see them more often I think.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Really? Thats news to me, but i thought the skyactive engine was difficult to turbo because of its high compression ratio? Also i couldnt find turbo kits for the mazda 3 anywhere lol. Thats what lead me to think that it was impossible. But thanks for clearing that up! Where can i find a turbo kit?

·