2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I just wanted to do a short 'check in'. I'm Diederik from Rotterdam, NL. Currently I'm looking forward to a testdrive of a 3 165hp. Of course in Soul Red (because they drive faster...)

I'm looking for info on 'what to check for'. The car is a 2015 with approx 50kkm driven.

In regular life I'm a teacher at the university of applied sciences here in Rotterdam. Courses: everything with IT and information security.

Cheers!
Diederik

·
Registered
72 Posts
Welcome.

If you're a car guy, you'll want to check all the usual things. Engine mounts, bushings, suspension noises and clunks, transmission slop, engine codes, VIN records for crashes if your country does this (equivalent to Carfax), etc. Verify regular maintenance according to the Mazda maintenance schedule for your region (download here or on the Mazda website). If the seller didn't keep records of every service, then reconsider the purchase.

If you're not a car guy, maybe get a mechanic friend to look it over for you.

After you buy, you'll probably want to consider doing all the regular maintenance at the beginning so you know the state of things and you know that you did it right. Lube the bushings, Inspect brake pads, change the oil, brake/steering/clutch fluid, belts, coolant, wipers, air filter, cabin filter, etc etc. Check for TSBs/Recalls get that out of the way, especially if you can get it done under warranty.

Most don't, but it's peace of mind...especially if you're buying used.

·
Gearhead
1,841 Posts