1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
stupid teacha bitch!
2,193 Posts
Yeah it's called speed 3 263 out the box

·
Registered
3,274 Posts
Its also called speed 3 isnt appealing to all. Im sure that a good intake, good header and scavenging exhaust, with a good crank case pressure relief system will put a 2.5 to at least 175whp. Taking an NA step even further, possibly get a custom
Intake manifold made with correctly sized runners and bells. Using all that, with a great exhaust and well made intake manifold i believe 200crank hp is possible durring vvt. Remember crankcase pressure relief is important, you can actually make a setup to feed it into the exhaust stream amd the exhaust actually pulls all air out of the engine

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
im new to all this but intake headers and exhaust only to 175 hp? isnt the 2.5 167 hp stock? i figured more. I just think it would be cool having the fastest 2.5 Mazda N/A out there. anyone can just buy a speed. im new to all this but it intrigues me.

·
stupid teacha bitch!
2,193 Posts
Yeah I was just kidding god you mz3 guys are up tight

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
lol i dont mean to be a traitor or anything but if i go turbo route... ive been thinking hard about this. i think i will be buying the STI hatch. with the boxer engine.. if i could afford it i would have ms3 and sti! but i still cant decide! Price vs Power ratio!

·
stupid teacha bitch!
2,193 Posts
I wish I could afford the sti

·
Registered
10 Posts
just fyi, it does say that the 3 makes 167 hp, but that is to the crank (correct if i'm wrong here) When you actually take it to a dyno - and depending on where you are - your numbers will be much lower than that of 167 due to the engine having to put out power to the wheels. So, ultimately, you're looking for whp, not bhp. I'm from Vancouver, BC and i've seen some dyno sheets here of 3's making 130ish stock, so making around 175 with just those mods, is pretty significant if you ask me.

·