2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I was wondering if anyone out there has change their own engine air filter in a 2010 Mazda 3 2.5l. I just changed mine at 19K (1st time) and noticed that there was a medium amount of dust adhered to the inside of the filter box assembly. I am not talking about the outboard side of the filter, but rather the inboard where it should be sparking clean.
I have been changing my air filters in all my vehicles for more than 20 years, and I don’t recall ever seeing any particles on the “clean” end.
We don’t drive in dusty areas, and the filter I removed was in good shape for the mileage.
Makes me think Mazda has not done a good job with the design of the filter assembly, and some dust/pollen is bypassing the filter. Looking at the filter it would be hard to imagine anything getting through it.
This makes me worried about the long term effectiveness of filtering out things that my engine ideally shouldn’t be ingesting. Also I had to remove the filter box completely in order to clean the inside and that was a pain the butt!

·
ZOOM ZOOM
411 Posts
Hey everyone,

I was wondering if anyone out there has change their own engine air filter in a 2010 Mazda 3 2.5l. I just changed mine at 19K (1st time) and noticed that there was a medium amount of dust adhered to the inside of the filter box assembly. I am not talking about the outboard side of the filter, but rather the inboard where it should be sparking clean.
I have been changing my air filters in all my vehicles for more than 20 years, and I don’t recall ever seeing any particles on the “clean” end.
We don’t drive in dusty areas, and the filter I removed was in good shape for the mileage.
Makes me think Mazda has not done a good job with the design of the filter assembly, and some dust/pollen is bypassing the filter. Looking at the filter it would be hard to imagine anything getting through it.