2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anybody here have both a dash cam AND a radar detector in their car? Are they mounted? How did you do so, in a way that doesn't interfere with any sensors you may have? Can we get some pictures please? And maybe even what cam/detector you're using? I'm looking to get both eventually if it's practical. Otherwise I'll just have to shoot for one or the other, but some insight for now would be very helpful :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
249 Posts
I use a blackvue dr650gw-1ch and a escort max II. These's no obstruction of view from this POV shot.



Basically I wire tapped the accessory fuse(on and off with engine) with a 3 way splitter so I get power for both the dash cam and radar detector. Ran the dash wire up A pillar avoiding the airbag and the detector wire across the dash pinned down by wire clips.

wire tap.JPG splitter.JPG ran up.JPG cabling.JPG across.JPG


For the mounts I used factory mount for the dash and mounted it behind the mirror, and bought the cheapest GPS mount I can find to mount the detector behind the infotainment screen. I used a dremel to modify the shape of the mount to fit my detector and utilized velcro to secure the detector.

2 mounting points.JPG amazon mount.png behind-screen.jpg
detector-mount.jpg

I then taped the logos and markings on the dashcam so it looks more discrete from the outside.
outside-view.jpg
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
I think dashcams will be standard equipment before too long. Probably not radar detectors tho. I would feel naked without my 15 year old Valentine One. I mounted the Valentine One under the mirror with an after market mount. It get power from the moonroof area. I'd like it to be switched but all I could find was always on power. Not a big deal, just have to remember to turn it on and off.

I recently added a Lukas 7950 dashcam. I don't have a lot of sensors in my 2015 3i Touring but do have the black dot grid behind and above the mirror. The dash cam has a gps built into its base. I was concerned the black dots would interfere with the gps signal so I mounted it just below the black dots. Only the bottom part of the dashcam is visible from the driver's seat. The 7950 has an automatic parking mode. To get it to work, it needs two power leads, one switched and one constant power. Since I couldn't find a switched power feed from the moonroof, I had to run the wire to the fuse box. The 7950 has a second camera and wire for the rear. I haven't hid that wire yet either.

I was a bit worried about the camera blocking radar signals but the cam sits above the detector and seems to work just fine. I was also concerned the detector might disturb the video but the video looks fine.



First day testing the dashcam and I picked up one of Nevada's finest checking me out. He surprised me as he didn't have his radar running.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts
I have a 2016 Mazda6 Touring manual with a V1 and a A119. I've upgraded my V1 once in 2007 since I purchased it in 1998! A lot more false signals thanks to all the rador on modern cars, but I can envision not having the V1. Not one ticket since purchasing. The A119 is a nice front only camera for $99 with GPS and excepts 128MB card.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
249 Posts
I think dashcams will be standard equipment before too long. Probably not radar detectors tho. I would feel naked without my 15 year old Valentine One. I mounted the Valentine One under the mirror with an after market mount. It get power from the moonroof area. I'd like it to be switched but all I could find was always on power. Not a big deal, just have to remember to turn it on and off.

I recently added a Lukas 7950 dashcam. I don't have a lot of sensors in my 2015 3i Touring but do have the black dot grid behind and above the mirror. The dash cam has a gps built into its base. I was concerned the black dots would interfere with the gps signal so I mounted it just below the black dots. Only the bottom part of the dashcam is visible from the driver's seat. The 7950 has an automatic parking mode. To get it to work, it needs two power leads, one switched and one constant power. Since I couldn't find a switched power feed from the moonroof, I had to run the wire to the fuse box. The 7950 has a second camera and wire for the rear. I haven't hid that wire yet either.

I was a bit worried about the camera blocking radar signals but the cam sits above the detector and seems to work just fine. I was also concerned the detector might disturb the video but the video looks fine.

First day testing the dashcam and I picked up one of Nevada's finest checking me out. He surprised me as he didn't have his radar running.
I want to have a rear cam too! How did you wire the cable and where are you mounting the rear camera?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
I want to have a rear cam too! How did you wire the cable and where are you mounting the rear camera?
I am not proud of my wiring. The rear camera has a single cable going to the front camera. Its 15' long. I put it behind the sun visor and under the handles on the roof. Its a total mickey mouse job but it works and I'm too lazy and its too cold for me to fix it right now.

I mounted the rear camera low on the window of my hatch. Wrong thing to do. It should be high on the window, as close to the pivot point of the door as possible. And it should be centered. Our back windows are curved. If its not centered, it will be looking out the back at an angle.

If I could find a switched power source in the moonroof area, it would be a lot simpler. But then I'd have to worry about the cameras, radar detector, and moonroof all running on the same circuit and possibly subject it to over loading.

g-hood, I live just south of Nellis AFB. Where is the g-hood hood?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
249 Posts
I am not proud of my wiring. The rear camera has a single cable going to the front camera. Its 15' long. I put it behind the sun visor and under the handles on the roof. Its a total mickey mouse job but it works and I'm too lazy and its too cold for me to fix it right now.

I mounted the rear camera low on the window of my hatch. Wrong thing to do. It should be high on the window, as close to the pivot point of the door as possible. And it should be centered. Our back windows are curved. If its not centered, it will be looking out the back at an angle.

If I could find a switched power source in the moonroof area, it would be a lot simpler. But then I'd have to worry about the cameras, radar detector, and moonroof all running on the same circuit and possibly subject it to over loading.

g-hood, I live just south of Nellis AFB. Where is the g-hood hood?
Haha I work downtown by Fremont street we are not that far away. In our hood people driving the wrong way and running stop sign/traffic lights all the time so gotta have a dashcam, plus you catch interesting things sometimes too here's an example from just the other day.

Thanks for the rear cam location tip, the only thing I worry about if I mount high on the window is at night when the 3rd brake light gets activated it'll probably blind the camera. Wiring is definitely tricky I'll have to figure it out. Maybe they'll come out with a dashcam that has a telephoto lens that I mount below the mirror looking back so I don't have to run wire over.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey thanks guys! Funny enough, I never thought about mounting anything to the back of the infotainment system lol. I was however, a little worried about space if I wanted to mount both things near the rear view mirror. I've got a 2016 iTouring hatch. On the rear view mirror itself is a light sensor for the auto-dimming feature, and just to the right of the little thing holding the mirror in place is what I think is the sensor for the automatic windshield wipers. But I was looking into the Valentine detector, if I were to get one. At this point, I'm most likely going to pull the trigger on the A119C for a dash cam soon. It was good to see how some other people have it set up :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
104 Posts
I use a blackvue dr650gw-1ch and a escort max II. These's no obstruction of view from this POV shot.



Basically I wire tapped the accessory fuse(on and off with engine) with a 3 way splitter so I get power for both the dash cam and radar detector. Ran the dash wire up A pillar avoiding the airbag and the detector wire across the dash pinned down by wire clips.

View attachment 188826 View attachment 188818 View attachment 188810 View attachment 188842 View attachment 188834


For the mounts I used factory mount for the dash and mounted it behind the mirror, and bought the cheapest GPS mount I can find to mount the detector behind the infotainment screen. I used a dremel to modify the shape of the mount to fit my detector and utilized velcro to secure the detector.

View attachment 188850 View attachment 188874 View attachment 188858
View attachment 188866

I then taped the logos and markings on the dashcam so it looks more discrete from the outside.
View attachment 188882
Awesome. You gave me some ideas. I'm also thinking of getting the Viofo A119 with GPS module. So what's the difference between the A119 and A119C?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Awesome. You gave me some ideas. I'm also thinking of getting the Viofo A119 with GPS module. So what's the difference between the A119 and A119C?
Sorry, that's a typo. I meant the A118C. I'm not sure if there is an A119C, but if there is, the only difference will be that instead of there being a battery inside the unit, there's a capacitor. The only reason one would get the C model as opposed to the other is because one lives in an area that experiences high heat, like Southern California.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well A119 is only available with capacitor, and soon should be available updated version called A119S with better image sensor from Sony. This is my mount without gps:
What's that giant box you've got there behind the rear view mirror?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
104 Posts
Sorry, that's a typo. I meant the A118C. I'm not sure if there is an A119C, but if there is, the only difference will be that instead of there being a battery inside the unit, there's a capacitor. The only reason one would get the C model as opposed to the other is because one lives in an area that experiences high heat, like Southern California.
So the "C" means it has a capacitor?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top