2004 to 2016 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 14' iGT I bought pre-owned from Carmax a while ago with 25k miles I love the car.

Anyway I noticed that the keyfob light would light up (green) in the dash after I turned the car off. I looked it up on the manual and it stated that the either the keyless entry/push button start system might have a problem or the battery needs to be replaced.

I thought it was weird that the battery might need replacing since its 2yrs old and it would still lock/unlock the car from across a big parking lot and never gave me any issues using the push button start.
So I decided to buy new CR2025 batteries per the manual and swapped them.

I'm a tech junkie so before I did I checked the voltage with my volt/amp meter and the old battery read 2.88V
The new energizer battery I was replacing it with read 3.25v
So it was definitely starting to run low (even though it didn't show any symptoms)

Now this morning when I got to work and turned the car off - voila, no more keyfob light on the dash

I thought it's a really cool feature that the car tells you ahead of time that the battery may be running low on the keyfob.

A little disappointing that the battery needed to be replaced this soon though... perhaps the push button start system drains the battery a little more since it has to keep connection and ensure the keyfob is in the car.

Reactions: ElNino77

·
Registered
294 Posts
My key is a little over 1 year old, sometimes when the key is in my pocket and I start the car, the "key is outside of the car" beeping will start. This only started happening a few weeks ago. I have to open the door and take the key out of my pocket for the car to "see" the key. I have to look out for the green light you're talking about.

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)