2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Mazda3 2.2d Sport Nav 2015
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm in dire need of some help.

I have a 2015 Mazda3 Sport Nav. I've used the AIO Tweaks since the day I bought the car 2 years ago (mainly for Android Auto). Recently I found out you could make custom themes for the Mzd Connect software so I spent a little bit of time making my own images and changing the main menu .css file (I have some basic experience making websites so I knew what I was doing).

Anyway after applying my theme I was experiencing loads of weird issues (Settings menu was empty, radio wasn't working correctly, couldn't back out of menus) so I tried to revert back to a backup JCI I had on my PC. I installed it and waited for the software to restart. Now I'm stuck in a bootloop. It reboots about 5 times and then goes to a black screen.

Is my system completely bricked? I've tried hard resetting etc but to no avail. I was running System Software v55 before this happened. Is there anything I can do to fix this before I ring the dealer tomorrow?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Mazda have quoted me £120 per hour just to diagnose the issue. I can get a replacement CMU for £205. From the videos I've watched and posts I've read it's just a simple replacement. Is that my best option?

·
Registered
1,293 Posts
I think, that the replacement is the easiest way to do it.

There might be some more software things to try, but I only read about them & can not tell you from experience - you could search for black screen and reboot here to find out more.

·
Registered
2018 Mazda 3 GT
2,269 Posts
Official AA works well. It's easy to install by yourself too.

Once you get a new CMU that is..
CK

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the help guys. I'll probably just buy a new CMU then. There are a couple on Ebay at the moment.