1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
n00b
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question: Given the info below, please vote and tell me:

A) I'm just having bad luck,
B) I'm just a bad driver, or
C) 18" wheels are just an unreasonable size for driving on imperfect roads in the northeast?

Background:
I've had the speed 3 for only about three weeks. It has stock 18" wheels and 225/40R18 Continental ExtremeContact DWS tires.

The first week I pulled off a main road into an unfamiliar driveway quickly, hit a low curb, broke the bead on both left side tires, and bent the front left rim. Ok, my bad.

New wheel, two (insured) new tires, two tie rods, and rim insurance purchase later:
Tonight I am on the highway, hit a bump, and my right front tire starts losing pressure. I find a place to fill it up and hear loud hissing. I won't know the deal with the tire/wheel until the morning.

I've been driving a 30 years without hardly ever any issues, but never had rims over 16" before. I'm wondering if I should panic and move down to 17" inch wheels now, or just keep on with the insurance and inconvenience. Please advise.

·
Silver Demon
837 Posts
Low profile tires are more bound to bust on sudden impact (especially when over-inflated).....I think going with 17"s will take care of your problem.

·
Registered
105 Posts
I've only had one issue with bending a rim, I hit a giant pothole going about 40 mph, the tire didn't blow but when I went to mount some new tires (the same ones you have) the tech showed me the wheel on the balancer and it was wobbling like crazy. like nosubstitute959 said, these lo-pro's don't offer much protection against impact, and the stiff suspension doesn't help either

·
Street Unit - Ninja Killa
507 Posts
just be really careful I have only had low profile tires for about 8 years and I have never blow one. I be no means drive like a granny either.. just watch what you are doing ..

·
Registered
27 Posts