2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can we just replace our stock brake disk like the item below without any modification? Please advise.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If you're referring to the slotting & drilling, then the answer is YES.

Yes i am referring to that. Will our stock brake fit? Sorry its my first time to upgrade. I just want to be sure before i proceed.

·
Super Moderator
5,553 Posts
Yes i am referring to that. Will our stock brake fit? Sorry its my first time to upgrade. I just want to be sure before i proceed.

Will it fit? Don't know. Check with the vendor. Without specific information, it could fit anything.
There are some caveats that need to be addressed when using drilled and slotted rotors. They heat up faster, but also cool faster so you can use pads with a higher heat range than normal. They make noise, more than OEM rotors. If not designed properly, they can crack through the holes when used hard. Good ones ($$$) have properly spaced and chamfered holes. Not good for track work, ok for autox and fast street use. :smile2:

·
Registered
441 Posts

This is being made too complicated. To answer your specific question & not throw in a bunch of other stuff about whether you should want drilled &/or slotted rotors, my answer is still correct: YES!

Just make sure you buy rotors to fit your year of Mazda 3 & they will work with the stock brake calipers. The drilling &/or slotting of the rotors have nothing to do with fit.

·
Super Moderator
5,553 Posts
This is being made too complicated. To answer your specific question & not throw in a bunch of other stuff about whether you should want drilled &/or slotted rotors, my answer is still correct: YES!