2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Mazda N00b
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I just bought a brand new 2013 Mazda 3 about a week ago, and I pretty much bought the lowest model (i SV 2.0L) for more space when I go on family trips, and for when I don't feel like spending a crap load of money on gas. I own a BMW Z4 sDrive35i, and premium gas is not cheap :tongue_smilie 1:

I have been an avid driver and fan of BMW - and know a lot about them... but not too much about Mazda besides their reliability, although I must say, for a 148-HP 2 liter, this thing has some pretty surprising pick-up with manual transmission - and I am impressed.

Still, I would like to upgrade some internals on this car. I haven't seen too many upgrade threads on here except for MazdaSpeed3s. My question is, since it isn't a MazdaSpeed3 - is it worth the upgrades - or can it even handle them without having to rebuild the entire car? I didn't ask about these capabilities with the dealer nor did I research them beforehand, because I guess I really don't care either way - but it wouldn't make me unhappy to slap some goodies in it.

Thanks for the advice either way, and I hope I am not too much of a Mazda noob for this forum.

- Logan

·
Silver Surfer
2,904 Posts
First off welcome!!

the normal Mazda 3 can't put out power like a speed but your best bet is to make a handling car.. Stiffer rear away bar, lowering and grippier tires will make the car handle superb..only issue would be if its a family car the. Lowering it may cause it lose its comfy ride

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
#MonsterMazda
461 Posts
First off welcome!!

the normal Mazda 3 can't put out power like a speed but your best bet is to make a handling car.. Stiffer rear away bar, lowering and grippier tires will make the car handle superb..only issue would be if its a family car the. Lowering it may cause it lose its comfy ride

This^^

and welcome!

·
Registered
1,866 Posts