2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I just bought a used 2010 Mazda 3 S a few weeks ago.:clap: First post here, though I've been lurking a lot looking at mods.
The previous owner had acquired a few rock chips (from driving on the highway frequently, I'm guessing).

A couple of them are rusted as you can see in the pictures below. They're very small, but I would like to fix them up.

What is the best way to fix rusted rock chips so that they're indistinguishable from the rest of the car?

I'm not very good with cars (I hope to learn a lot here:wink:), so I apologize in advance if this is a noobish question.

I did look around online and what some have tried is using a rust removing solution or sandpaper :eek:hmy 1:, to remove the rust, then apply primer, touch up paint, and clear coat.

rusted rock chips

These aren't rusted; they don't seem to be as deep as the chips in above pics. Is touch up paint and clear coat (or does touch up paint already have clear coat in it) enough to fix it up?

(for size comparison, the big rectangular shadow is a Galaxy S 4)

Thanks, all! :balloon:

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mostly on the hood. One of them (the first pic, I think) is on the passenger side C-pillar - I've no idea how that managed to get there. :001_huh 1:

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Im not sure about the ones with rust but the ones where it just went down to the primer I would just get some touch up paint from the dealer and fill them in

I filled a chip on my door with that stuff like 6 months ago and its still there. It hasnt washed off or anything lol

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah, I was planning on doing that.
How does yours look? Do you know if the OEM touch up paint has the clear coat mixed in?

·
Registered
641 Posts