2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried searching this, but I didn't seem to find the answer I was looking for. I'm a complete newb at this, so I just want to clear everything up. My 2012 Skyactiv HB will be a daily driver ONLY. I live in a place where it's snowy/icy 8 months out of the year. I don't track, race, auto-x, or do anything to where more expensive coilovers would be more beneficial to me. That being said, I'm not sure whether I need lowering springs, or coilovers.

From what I understand with lowering springs, the stock struts can't take the extra load the shorter springs put on them. That, and when it comes to aesthetics, coilovers just pull off the lowered look better. Not to mention the added handling and responsiveness. That leans me more toward the coilover route.

I've been reading up on Raceland coilovers, and I've been reading so many mixed reviews, that I don't know what to think about them. I've read Warlord's review on them. Not to discredit him or anything, but one review on our 3's just isn't enough to turn me towards/away from them. I suppose my main question on them is if they are better than or even equivalent to stock in terms of performance. As I said, I'm 100% dailying my ride, so I'm pretty inclined towards the Racelands. Unless, of course, they are worse than stock.

I'm not sure if I'm getting what I need to out, my main questions are:

Should I get coilovers or just springs?
Whether I get springs or coilovers, which would be best for daily driving?
I just want to get rid of the SUV gap, without making the handling worse.

Again, if this is already addressed in another thread, I apologize in advance for re-posting.
Thanks for reading

-TANK

·
Da belle of da ball.
3,542 Posts
pick whichever spring depending on how much you want to lower (Racing Beat/Eibach/Road Magnet/etc), mate them to koni struts and done.