2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm brand new to the car forum thing and I've already got questions.

First, my car. 2016 Mazda3 hatch touring. Bought it with 6 miles in November 2015. Currently have 11,200 miles.

Second, my burning question:

I live in east Texas right now, and in December, I'm moving to Salt Lake City to shake things up a bit. My problem is getting my stuff there. (I'm leaving 70% of my stuff behind.)

I was on the U-Haul site, and found I can have a trailer hitch installed with all the parts for $454. I can also use a 4'x8' trailer cross-country for $314. All told, that's a hair over half of what two moving van lines have quoted me for the move.

BUT!! Can my car handle that? It's about 1,800 miles. According to the U-Haul website, the trailer can accomodate 1,165 pounds of my stuff. Doable, I'm moving light. Will my car survive? What's this about tongue weight? Driving across a mountain range in December is probably bound to have some effects on all of this, too, right?

·
Registered
70 Posts
I tow 1000 pound trailer each and every weekend short distance but once a while on a 300-500mile trip. It tows much better than I expected. Stops and accelerates really good. When towing, I keep it in "sport mode" to keep the RPM's up a little and helps. On long flat highways it's in regular mode but put transmission in manual mode and keep it in 5th gear.

Tongue weight is how much weight is sitting on the hitch ball. I keep about 50 pounds of tongue weight but with a utility trailer, it will likely be more. A class1 hitch is rated at 200LBS max tongue weight. Bottom line, you can adjust the tongue weight by how you load the trailer. Too light and it will not tow well, too heavy and it will really sag down the rear and cause extra wear on the tires.

FYI: I have an AT 2.5L gen3.

·
Registered
34 Posts