2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

81 - 94 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #81 (Edited)
So, I tried again, but this time I connected the amp to the Bluetooth mode, and I hear the sub, front speakers, and rear speakers, but I don’t hear the other speakers. Blue and grey are the rears. When I turn off the Bluetooth my amp doesn’t play, and I hear the other speakers.They’re not playing together, so I guess the amp is still not connected to the car. I think maybe I might have to try the high level inputs?
I think that's correct. If you're going straight from the speaker wires into your amp without a LOC to convert from speaker/high to line/low, then you would use the high level inputs and let the Sony handle the conversion, functioning as a preamp and amp in one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
I thought that the pac-aoem maz2 would convert the signal to the amp, but I don’t think it’s compatible. I think it sends a signal that the amp doesn’t recognize. I think I’m going to try a different amp like the Rockford Fosgate. The Bluetooth app is too clunky. I got to try that out at least. I should get the Rockford fosgate.
I cut one of the brown wires and that was the right rear speakers by the way. The grey one wasn’t right. I have to try a different amp anyway. Thanks for your assistance. Hey, I’m in Los Angeles. Where are you?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #83
I thought that the pac-aoem maz2 would convert the signal to the amp, but I don’t think it’s compatible. I think it sends a signal that the amp doesn’t recognize. I think I’m going to try a different amp like the Rockford Fosgate. The Bluetooth app is too clunky. I got to try that out at least. I should get the Rockford fosgate.
I cut one of the brown wires and that was the right rear speakers by the way. The grey one wasn’t right. I have to try a different amp anyway. Thanks for your assistance. Hey, I’m in Los Angeles. Where are you?
NC here. Welcome. I forgot you were using that at the TAU. I think that's correct, the MAZ2 should have a LOC built-in.

Are you using the short leads from the male Ampro or the long leads from the female to power?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #84
As a postscript, I've found that keeping the amp hooked up to the summed doors AND bassbox/rear center signal works best. That way, it keeps the new sub when you fade to rear (as does the factory sub when you fade to rear), and the new sub hits a little harder with that boosted low-end signal that was going to the factory subs added in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
@perseus Not sure if you've posted in another thread, but where did you run your amp power wire through the firewall? Looks like there's room to drill a hole a little above and right of the main harness from inside the vehicle on the driver side. Just wondering if there's a better spot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #86 (Edited)
@perseus Not sure if you've posted in another thread, but where did you run your amp power wire through the firewall? Looks like there's room to drill a hole a little above and right of the main harness from inside the vehicle on the driver side. Just wondering if there's a better spot.
Once you remove the battery, you'll see where you can slide a coat hanger thru. Just duct up your wire tightly and pull it thru. There's a little nipple already provided, tho you have to snip it (or not I forget). You should be able to see sunlight from the clutch pedal location after pulling back the insulation if you look from the bottom upwards.

ETA: That location that you described sounded like that same spot, by the way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
As a postscript, I've found that keeping the amp hooked up to the summed doors AND bassbox/rear center signal works best. That way, it keeps the new sub when you fade to rear (as does the factory sub when you fade to rear), and the new sub hits a little harder with that boosted low-end signal that was going to the factory subs added in.
Well, it finally worked...what sucks is I don’t know if the Sony amp was bad or the connection. I like the RF amp better anyhow. Worked the first time. All door speakers and sub amped up. What I had to do was attach hi/lo converters to the shorter wires on harness to rca’s and bingo!! There was a guy at a car audio shop who had all the answers. There’s always that one guy who seems to know everything...in any case I had to take bits and pieces of information from the internet and so on to make it work. Sounds strong even without an lc7i. My car didn’t have a factory sub, so I don’t think I had to connect anything there. Remember the brown wires are for the rear right side speaker. You have to cut it...everything is good so far.☺
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #88
Well, it finally worked...what sucks is I don’t know if the Sony amp was bad or the connection. I like the RF amp better anyhow. Worked the first time. All door speakers and sub amped up. What I had to do was attach hi/lo converters to the shorter wires on harness to rca’s and bingo!! There was a guy at a car audio shop who had all the answers. There’s always that one guy who seems to know everything...in any case I had to take bits and pieces of information from the internet and so on to make it work. Sounds strong even without an lc7i. My car didn’t have a factory sub, so I don’t think I had to connect anything there. Remember the brown wires are for the rear right side speaker. You have to cut it...everything is good so far.☺
Glad to hear! You mean on the non-Bose right? They're different on the Bose, which is why I thought a new thread made sense. You may want to jump over to the other amp thread; I think it has 2019 Premium in the thread title.

Congrats though! You have to love when it all comes together like that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Glad to hear! You mean on the non-Bose right? They're different on the Bose, which is why I thought a new thread made sense. You may want to jump over to the other amp thread; I think it has 2019 Premium in the thread title.

Congrats though! You have to love when it all comes together like that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Thanks! It is a Bose system that’s in the grand touring, but I think the sedan had a sub built in, the hatch no. I would have been happy with the factory stereo if there was a sub in the spare. You should change your stock speakers though. It makes a big difference...I have jbl’s front and back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #91
Thanks! It is a Bose system that’s in the grand touring, but I think the sedan had a sub built in, the hatch no. I would have been happy with the factory stereo if there was a sub in the spare. You should change your stock speakers though. It makes a big difference...I have jbl’s front and back.
Nice! I did change to Hertz, but I still have one more to install this week after breaking a part in the front door.

The Premium Plus turbo hatch must have a sub?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
I have a 2017 grand touring model. The turbo definitely has to have one. I think they have 10 band equalizers and a bunch of preset options to optimize sound.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #93
I have a 2017 grand touring model. The turbo definitely has to have one. I think they have 10 band equalizers and a bunch of preset options to optimize sound.
The wiring likely changed after 2019. I have a few presets but no 10-band on my Turbo.

Where is your sub?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #94
Does anyone know if the Big 3 upgrade can help significantly on stock system? Debating whether an upgraded battery would be worth it.
 
81 - 94 of 94 Posts
Top