2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was looking at the IAT reading earlier and I got a constant 40 degree on an average sunny day and I do feel the car being more sluggish when that happens. Can’t imagine what it would be like when it’s actually hot out. So now I’m thinking about adding a heat shield/wrapping the oe airbox. I’m not looking into getting a CAI as I didn’t plan to go that route and got an AEM dry filter. Besides, I’ll eventually have to do the same thing to the CAI anyways.

I’ve never done this before so I’m looking for recommendation from people that have experience. What’s some good material to use for wrapping the intake and what parts do you usually wrap? Is it worth the effort to insulate the oe airbox?

·
Registered
215 Posts
Think I posted my experience... So far lower temps. Slower heat soak. More responsive the car

Before I was always +10 c now Im +5. Substancial gain

Also you will see in the mouth of the airbox right after entrance a filter like mesh. Close it with gorila tape. And use silicone to asemble airbox so its tight no leaks.

Enviado desde mi G3123 mediante Tapatalk

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i used the gold mylar tape from Jegs
Looks good. Seems like something I would attempt.

How much improvement does this make after? And did you also tape the pipe from the air box to the throttle body or just the box to the intake opening?

·
Registered
190 Posts
no idea on temp deltas as I have no way to measure at the moment.
I did not sleeve the rubber inlet hose, not yet at least.
I also made a minor mod to the rad cover to allow outside air into the inlet, right above the drivers side horn there is a recess cut into the steel core support, I simply opened up the plastic cover in front of the air inlet to allow outside air in directly

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7