2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 2014 iSV which has a very low coolant level and I would like to make sure the system is in good shape. The previous owner didn't disclose the last time the fluids were checked or what kind of coolant was last used, but it looks to be an emerald green. I'm thinking of just picking up the FL-22 Mazda coolant and topping it off, but should I consider flushing the system first?

It's currently just under 97,000 miles.

·
Registered
218 Posts
Don't top up. Drain, flush and replace.
Okay, will do! It'll be a learning experience for me since I've never done it before but the guide on CarCareKiosk looks like its pretty comprehensive. Would you recommend buying the coolant directly from Mazda or somewhere else?
Everyone is different, I today bought coolant for my 08' Mazda, went up to a Advance auto told them I needed coolant. They looked at the computer to see what exactly I needed and he gave me a yellow bottle of Prestone. Something like that. Around 20usd

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Everyone is different, I today bought coolant for my 08' Mazda, went up to a Advance auto told them I needed coolant. They looked at the computer to see what exactly I needed and he gave me a yellow bottle of Prestone. Something like that. Around 20usd
Coolant is quite compatible. Most is ethelyne glycol, so any type of that stuff will do. Some is better than the other based on additives. The other type is propalyne glycol, which is specific to GM. Its non toxic, but does not lubricate as well. This lead to premature pump failures so they abandoned it. It also turns to a gel when mixed with ethelyene glycol.

Before just topping up or flushing, I'd start by asking WHY the coolant is low. It generally doesn't evaporate as it is a pretty well sealed system. Low coolant means something is wrong. Start looking for leaks.

·
Super Moderator
717 Posts