2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So let's say I'll have $500 by the end of this year to modify my 3. I already bought Eibach springs and will install them soon, so lowering is already checked off my list. The rest of my car is stock, except the AEM dryflow filter and some light overlays. I really think sound is important to driving as I came from an Eclipse with a Magnaflow exhaust so I miss the sound when I drive. I need some input as to what I should do with $500.

A local muffler shop has quoted me $150-$200 to do a muffler delete and a y pipe fab with stock tips (or bring in my own tips for them to weld for the same price, which would cost me an extra $40 from ebay). This leaves me with about $250-$350, which I like since having extra pocket money is nice to have (I spent most my money on Eibachs and felt the struggle of having no money left lol, I'm a college student). That money could be used toward things in my life or I could get more mods like a front bumper lip, MIT grill, skirts, etc. Only cons I have about a muffler delete is that they essentially cut and weld your stuff, so it isn't as easy as bolt on exhaust in case I need to go back to stock.

On the other hand, I could get my hands on a Borla exhaust locally for a little over $500 and I could remove it and replace it with the stock exhaust if needed. However, I'd be out of all my money.

Other options would be to save it towards a set of wheels and tires, specifically the RPF1's which I could get locally for about $900, and other $300 or so for tires, putting me at $1200; but I wouldn't be able to get them until next year after I graduate and if I do get a paying job. I'm a little impatient for that honestly, and by the time I do get a job I'd make more than enough for a set of wheels and tires anyway.