2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! Glad to be part of this Mazda family!!

Please forgive me, I am a total noob. I just bought a pre-owned 2011 Mazda Sport Grand Touring 4 dr Hatchback. So far I have really enjoyed the car.

About a week ago, I noticed my HID headlights were pointed really low to the ground. I took it to the Mazda Dealership in my area, and they said they needed to replace the entire headlight lens \ headlight assembly. They quoted me $914 per side (so $1828 for parts) and a few hours of labor. Not being able to drive safely at night I told them to do this.

Well, during the install of the new headlight assembly, MAZDA said that I needed to get two new Original Manufacturer HID lights, which were $275 each ($550). Or, they said I could have them use aftermarket HIDs which were only $75 each ($150). I opted for the aftermarkets because $550 just sounded insane to me.

So two days later I get my Mazda 3 back with new new headlight lenses, and new aftermarket HID lights. I notice right away that my HID lights are still not leveled correctly, and the two HID beams seem to cross each other rather than point forward, or meet together.

Another trip to Mazda, and now they tell me that the "motors" in the lenses do not work with the aftermarket HID lights, and I would need to buy two new Original Manufacturer HID lights ($550) if I wanted to be able to aim\use the motors!!! I've already spent $2000 on repairs that I am not even sure I needed. I don't want to spend more money on something if I don't really need it.

Can someone please tell me how the HID headlights work in the Mazda 3 2010/2011/2012? Can you adjust the aim of aftermarket HID lights? Does the motor only work with the Original Manufacturer HID lights? Is the motor part of the HID light, or is the motor in the headlight assembly?