2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pardon a newbie's stale question, but what do 1st gen owners think of the third?

I am the original owner of a 2006 M3 2.3 Touring manual hatch. Great car. Stiffer rear bar, full custom stereo, summer performance tires, done. 12+ years of happy driving. Well played, me.

But what do I replace it with? GTI? Focus ST? Another M3? Or should I even replace it? I've been shopping for THREE YEARS for another fun hatch. I just took what is now my 3rd test drive of the M3 GT manual. It ain't cutting it. Where is the improvement over 1st gen? It's a bit faster but doesn't feel hungry for it. Throttle response is ambivalent. Steering feels numb and disconnected like most every other car. Shifter is efficient but not satisfying. Bose is nice. There's a lot to like, but not much to love. I think I've narrowed it down to GTI vs. ST. :surprise:

Thoughts?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Update: the following day, I test drove a Focus ST (base) again. GREAT ENGINE. Shifter/clutch is also real nice. Ride is a bit busy for my roads, but overall great performance hatch (they're going for $20K). I could happy in the ST. But I bought a GTI the next day.

·
Registered
2018 Mazda 3 GT
2,499 Posts
The GTI is a nice car. Congrats.

I'll stick with my 3 and with Mazda though.
CK

·
'18 M3HGTP Eternal Blue
77 Posts
I just bought a car on Monday... the Golf was the only other main competitor (wife doesn't like the look of the ST). For us, the base Golf was cheaper in all ways than the M3, and the GTI was only a little more sporty at a pretty major cost premium while not really competing with fit and finish. Given that our car is a Commuter to replace out 2001 Jetta TDI, the M3 fit the bill the best... and that's coming from the perspective of being VERY happy with our Jetta/VW experience.