2004 to 2020 Mazda 3 Forum and Mazdaspeed 3 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have officially had my 2010 Grand Touring sedan for ~1.5 months now and 1500 miles so I have had the opportunity to test out everything and live with the car some time. Lets just say my time with the car has reaffirmed my decision and my only regret is I did not pick up a 3 earlier. I want to point out what has absolutely floored me with the 3.

Handling:

The one thing that has absolutely trumped everything is the driving experience. Keeping it sane the Grand Touring makes for a very comfortable drive, throw it into a corner and the seats hold you in place while the A+ chassis sorts things out with the road. This car has me taking corners much quicker than I should while it just hangs on. Push it to the limits and you can feel the front end losing grip, it will let you know when enough is enough. I did a 90 degree onramp ~60 MPH and was probably about 9/10's........my 3 made it very clear it was nearing the limits and was communicating through the wheel the front was starting to scrub a bit. This is definitely a drivers car and EVERY front wheel drive car should handle like the Mazda 3.

Engine/Trans

I am absolutely thrillled by the MZR 2.5. On paper it does not sound too impressive as it seems to be just another big 4 cylinder like the Nissan QR, Honda K or Toyota 2AZ. From personal experience it does trump the Toyota 2AZ 2.4. It makes the right noise, right power and gets good fuel economy for its size. On the other hand it is down on low end torque. My departed 2.5 Jetta was a low end torque monster which died at higher revs. My new 2.5 MZR has little low end torque but a great top end. After 1.5 months with it the jury is still out as to which is better. I am starting to lean towards the broader power band of the Mazda as it feels more flexible and the free-revving nature just intoxicates me.